Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2017, 03:50 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 321

My System Specs

Default Corsair SF600 for Kaby lake + gtx 1080?

So my friend has been getting the itch to build a new system after watching my water cooling project on mine currently.

He wants something small and compact, so I spec'd something out in the Lian Li PC-Q10 chassis.

Now I'm pretty sure we can fit a "hybrid" GTX 1080 in there mounting the rad/fan on the rear port, but I'm not sure about the tubes coming straight out the "top" of the card yet. There's 2x120mm fan holes on top, but apparently to mount a 120mm rad, it needs to be attached externally, like so...



Now this really doesn't work for me, but I had spec'd out the build with a corsair AX860i which would provide plenty of power and definitely wouldn't hinder overclocking but looks like it's too long to fit in there with a full size GPU anyway so I need to find something else..... I spec'd out 2 options though the give him an idea of a high and low price that he's looking at.

Lian Li PC-Q10
ASUS ROG STRIX Z270I GAMING
Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz 2x16gb ddr4 (CMK32GX4M2A2666C16)
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 HYBRID GAMING, 08G-P4-6188-KR, 8GB GDDR5X
Intel Core i7-7700K
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe
Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2 Extreme
Corsair AX860i

estimated total: 2722.92

Lian Li PC-Q10
ASUS H170I-PRO/CSM
Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz 2x8gb ddr4 (CMK16GX4M2A2666C16)
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC GAMING ACX 3.0, 08G-P4-6183-KR, 8GB GDDR5X
Intel Core i7-6700
SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Corsair AX860i

estimated total: 2276.92


Anyway, I'm thinking, because of the way the PSU mounts in the chassis, I could mount a 240mm rad internally if only I had a smaller PSU that I could mount in a different orientation. Here's an image of the way the PSU mounts anyway, but an SFF psu could probably be mounted sideways and a little lower than this shows which would leave room for the longer GPU below, and a rad extended above I think



So the cpu is rated 91w, and the gpu is 180w, so i'm thinking realistically, a 600w PSU should be sufficient, just won't leave much headroom for overclocking, but it's a SFF system so meh?
__________________
Code:
System.Environment.Exit(new Random().Next(1, Int32.MaxValue));

Last edited by stlouis1; May 17, 2017 at 03:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2017, 04:48 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

It'll be fine, especially if your GPU is dumping heat outside of the case. I have the SF600 powering a 6700K/FuryX.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2017, 07:24 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,235

My System Specs

Default

Perfectly fine using that PSU.
Heck, Corsair is using a modified SF400 for a 7700K / 1070 powered AIO PC they have.
The 600 for you is about 50% overkill, but you'll hit the sweet spot in the power curve with it at its most efficient point.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2017, 07:42 AM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: winterPEG
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

You'll be fine. I have a 550 watter unit in my Ryzen 1600 and Fury X. It's more than enough that I never get past 400W on just gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2017, 08:50 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 321

My System Specs

Default

yeah, kinda what i was figuring, the extra wattage of the 860i would have only really added overclocking headroom. should still be some room though i think.

the SFF psu gives me room to do stuff and fit more into the small package, so that'll work
__________________
Code:
System.Environment.Exit(new Random().Next(1, Int32.MaxValue));
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Pro, and Kaby Lake Caldezar O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 April 5, 2017 07:37 PM
Kaby Lake HTPC Evylldemon HTPC Systems & Software 5 January 12, 2017 10:04 PM
CES 2017: CORSAIR Launches New PSUs & Kaby Lake-based Bulldog 2.0 MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 January 10, 2017 10:31 PM
Kaby Lake unlocked i3 MARSTG Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 November 27, 2016 08:58 AM