Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2014, 03:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default PSU failing?

Recently I have been getting blackscreens in some games, I will simply be playing a game and the screen will go black and I can hear audio from the last few seconds but nothing else, I also cannot alt f4 or escape in any way other then resetting my computer.

This doesn't seem to happen while just browsing the web or playing light games which leads me to believe it is something wrong with the computer drawing enough power to cause this problem. I just reformatted and reinstalled w7 to see if that could be the solution but I just played payday 2 a while ago and it happened.

Probably going to start up an RMA in any case if my PSU is still within the warranty period (silverstone strider 1200w).

The only results on google for a computer blackscreening are mostly just people to say someones temps are to high (mine are not, GPU has aftermarket fan and CPU is watercooled) or to update game/drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2014, 06:31 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Try give the cooler on the GPU a good clean as well, doesn't hurt any just in case. Are you monitoring the temps or are you just saing It's got a good cooler so couldn't be too hot?
Are all the fans spinning on it? get something like CPUID HWMonitor and check.

I wouldn't start an RMA process as you'll have to pay shipping each way and a fee if there is no fault found... Identify whats the problem first... put your psu in another(similar or better if possible) rig and see if it does the same thing.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2014, 12:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Temps are around 40-50c on the CPU and around the same on the GPU, all the fans are indeed spinning. Usually running something to check temps on second monitor but when this happens my screen goes black so I cannot check.

Edit : Just reformatted and reinstalled W7 to no avail. Switched out the GPU cable to another slot on the PSU which seemed to help since I was able to game for a few hours before it actually crashed. Just going to order a new PSU for now I think and if the problem persists look at other options.

Last edited by [nK]Sharp; July 21, 2014 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2014, 04:52 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 431

My System Specs

Default

that sounds like driver issue straight up, if your overclocking the gpu, reset to factory speeds, as at least for me when it did lock up/black screen most time was core speed/voltage to high, when did crazy lines usually multi-colored tended to be memory speed (gpu wise of course) cpu tends to total lock or BSOD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
v7 client keeps failing Adzsask HardwareCanucks F@H Team 19 May 7, 2012 01:09 PM
ACC 0% 12% -12% what do these do? Core 0 always failing 0o0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 February 16, 2010 06:56 PM
I think my 8800GT is failing! doup93 Troubleshooting 15 July 17, 2009 07:23 PM
harddrive failing. help please kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 May 10, 2009 06:44 PM
TF2 Failing? Infiniti Gaming 7 July 11, 2008 01:39 PM