Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 03:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default Cable Identification

Can anybody help me out identifying this cable and its purpose when connected to my motherboard, it is currently too short for my new case so I need to find an extension for it if possible, or not use it at all if I can.



__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 03:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Without knowing the motherboard, case or seeing ANY other pictures its really hard to say.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 05:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Sorry here are some more pictures.





__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 05:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

SM 2P server board, SM PSU; my take would be this connectors and leads are for PSU voltage read-outs, which can be seen in the SM application (forgot the name), alongside board temperatures.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 05:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
SM 2P server board, SM PSU; my take would be this connectors and leads are for PSU voltage read-outs, which can be seen in the SM application (forgot the name), alongside board temperatures.
Thanks for the info, is this a required connection to power on the PC as we do not need to monitor the PSU voltage on this unit as it will not be operating as a server.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 05:46 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I've had SM MPs in the past (a few...), but never had a SM PSU. If indeed it is what I explained, then the board will function properly. I know mine did.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2014, 05:57 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

have look pdf
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 16, 2014 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2014, 01:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 283

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help, the PC is up and running.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE cable ? bostonkikiki Storage 6 March 14, 2013 08:54 AM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 12:30 PM
[WTB] Need VGA cable b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 September 23, 2009 10:50 AM
$5 cable for $50? artistpavel Off Topic 8 September 2, 2009 02:47 PM
DVI Cable? SGardiner Display Units 10 August 11, 2009 09:04 PM