Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 12:54 PM
vandidant's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 67
Default Old TX750 still good for 3 graphics cards?

I have a first generation TX750 that's a couple of years old, 60 amps on a single 12V rail iirc. I would like to install two hd7970's and a gtx460 for mining/folding 24 hours. Also a i5 750 at 3.8ghz, and four 3TB hard drives. Efficiency is not a concern, but the well-being of my hardware is (ironic I know since they're working 24/7). With this configuration I will need two more pcie power connectors than provided so I will have to use adapters for the gtx460. Will this be alright, or should I remove the gtx460 from the configuration?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 01:13 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

750 will be pushing it, but I think with with a 460 being your third card you might just squeeze by.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 01:44 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, reframing my response, though the TDP on a 7970 is 300W, so based on that you're looking at 600W for the two of them.

Assuming the GTX 460 has a TDP of say half that, at 150W you're at 750W.

Now factor in probably 50-100W for your mobo/cpu, depending on if it'll be mining or not (add more if it is) you're at around 850W
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 02:09 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,682

My System Specs

Default

Easy answer, get a new one. or if you drop the 460 then you'll still be pushing it.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 02:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

that's pushing it. I'd get a higher capacity PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 03:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,844

My System Specs

Default

Too much for that psu.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 05:05 PM
vandidant's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 67
Default

How can I tell if two 7970's is pushing it? Is there a temperature readout or something?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 05:57 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,558

My System Specs

Default

The 7970's can exceed 300w apiece. Multiply that by 3 and you have 900w just for the GPU's. It's probably no that cut and dried though as you would rarely see that third card maxed in games. Maybe bitcoin though. If you plan on overclocking and bumping up the voltages you looking at even more power.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 12:02 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Those charts are total system draw! Not GPU draw, you cannot measure card power draws with charts that include total system draw.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 01:44 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,558

My System Specs

Default

Your right. This might be a little more to your liking.

Quote:
Without a video card installed, our test system pulled 160 Watts from the wall when idling at the desktop. Once we installed the ASUS Radeon HD 7970, power consumption at idle increased to 180W, a mere 20W increase....

Under full load the stock ASUS Radeon HD 7970's power consumption peaked at 490 Watts, a 310W power increase.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Cards... Help! hkly90 Video Cards 8 October 23, 2011 07:32 PM
graphics cards sonyslave2223 Video Cards 4 October 2, 2011 06:57 AM
Corsair TX750 enough for 3 graphic cards? Asad_A203 Power Supplies 9 May 6, 2011 05:46 AM
Graphics cards and Memory lochsloy Video Cards 10 August 29, 2009 11:00 PM
need advice on graphics cards and hdd dubbaz New Builds 17 January 21, 2009 01:57 PM