Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 03:28 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,880

My System Specs

Default

Personally I wouldn't run the 2 x 7970 on it (though it may be ok). Nothing against the psu (it's a good one), but that is asking a lot of it (especially if it's already a few years old).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 09:00 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Basically you'll want to allow 150 - 200 W for the machine with oc load, 350W per 7970 (with oc and load) and probably 250~w for the 460 with oc and load.

Even if running just the 2 7970 you will either have to down-clock or not run everything at full load or you will be seriously stressing that PSU which means unstable voltage, hotter, reduced life and possibly make it go bang.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Cards... Help! hkly90 Video Cards 8 October 23, 2011 07:32 PM
graphics cards sonyslave2223 Video Cards 4 October 2, 2011 06:57 AM
Corsair TX750 enough for 3 graphic cards? Asad_A203 Power Supplies 9 May 6, 2011 05:46 AM
Graphics cards and Memory lochsloy Video Cards 10 August 29, 2009 11:00 PM
need advice on graphics cards and hdd dubbaz New Builds 17 January 21, 2009 01:57 PM