Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: West of Toronto
Posts: 38
Default is the Corsair TX-650 any good?

is the Corsair TX-650 any good?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: West of Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

also could you run 2 gtx 560ti in sli using that psu?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:15 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Im using the 750 model. Runs everything. Crossfire 7970 3gb over clocked and 16gb and custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: West of Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

And no problems?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:45 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

No issues at all. I am however thinking of upgrading to a bigger one just so I have a little more wiggle room as I'm about to go dual loop with 2 D5 and more fans and more gear...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drshew View Post
also could you run 2 gtx 560ti in sli using that psu?
I was running a heavily OC'd 1090t + SLI'd 560ti cards and I was popping the breaker on a 600W UPS so I'd recommend a 750W at the very least, and since I'm all about overhead I'd personally pick up an 850W instead. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Decent psu but you'll be pushing it very hard under full load if it can take it (depends on what else your running with it).. Suggest 750 - 850w too for sli.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2013, 02:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 25
Default

they have an issue with the TX series that the PSU ticks like a hard drive when fan is not on
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2013, 08:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: West of Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks and was your breaker in your panel tripping? Is that what you meant?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2013, 09:18 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drshew View Post
Thanks and was your breaker in your panel tripping? Is that what you meant?
No. The UPS has a safety feature that takes it offline if there is too much draw from connected devices so it's an internal "breaker" as opposed to something on my power panel, but the outcome is the same as it cuts power the same as a cct breaker would.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Carbide 500R: Good enough for TRIFIRE? Masteroderus Video Cards 6 May 4, 2012 04:10 PM
[WTB] a good router flashed to good firmware gingerbee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 15, 2012 05:15 AM
what is a good Media player for a good price or any suggestions Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 4 December 19, 2009 10:27 PM
So about the Corsair Obsidian, any good strategies for setting up a loop in that? Z Overlord Water Cooling 7 September 21, 2009 08:20 PM
Is corsair PC2-5300 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-667 kit a good choice for dell XPS M-1730? Styll RAM 0 January 16, 2008 12:04 AM