Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 10:07 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default 750watt is it enough?

I'm a little worried my brand new TX750M isn't going to cut it for my rig.

Have a feeling I'll be looking for a 1000 watt?

It'll be running

Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 <--- soon Maximus VI Formula
i5 2500K <--- soon i7 4770K
16GB RAM
2 x Asus 7970 Direct CU II <--- Waterblocks
1 x SSD
3 x Mechanical Drives
D5 Pump
~15 fans
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 10:42 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 444

My System Specs

Default Get A watt gizmo and find out.

OK you got me with 15 fans on a water cooled system - that's going to be one frigid system.

I'm too much of a novice to offer you much advice but will be interested in the outcome of this discussion as I'm thinking at some point I'll add a second HD7970 (or one of them new X280's) and crossfire them.

But I was worried that my Antec 620m would not have enough umph for my new HD7970. On the advice of "Bond007" I bought a Hampton Energy Monitor and attached it to my system and found that even when running 3D Mark 11 or playing a game (Shift2) the energy consumption of my rig barely touched 300w. That monitor is all of $19 and then you'll know what your rig is drawing. I think you'll be surprised by how little it does draw.

There are PSU calculators but according to the knowledge bank here they are pretty useless. See my discussion of these PSU Calculators


Now you have two video cards and almost twice the fans (I have eight case fans ~ or are you counting the video card fans and PSU fans? - if so I'm up to 12 so 15 ain't all that many after all) Anyway, I have no idea of the difference in the draw of your CPU vs my APU but save yourself the guessing and find out the actual draw, especially if you already have the 750m. It's only $20 - and a handy gizmo in your tool box.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:00 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I just did a rough estimate on fans at the moment but I plan to be running a 120.4 and a 120.2 both possibly in push/pull so that alone is 12 fans.

Maybe I'll grab one of those energy monitors, i am curious.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:03 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,793

My System Specs

Default

750W should be fine (depending on how much the pump pulls). Dual 7970's on a 3920k@4.2 pulled ~650W in a review here.

Personally I'd prefer a 850W unit but 750 should be fine.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2013, 11:22 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I do have an OCZ850watt that is about 2 years old that i just recently upgraded from. if need be I can toss that in until I get a bigger unit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 12:12 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,793

My System Specs

Default

Depending on the unit I'd prefer a decent 750W than a poor 850W. Check reviews.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 05:25 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Check out this review to see how your 750W handles different levels of load

Even at full load, it still meets Bronze efficiency, which is excellent!

You should be okay running all your gear on that powersupply.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 07:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Single rail so you can probably do it. Seems to be a decent PSU.

Take that OCZ PSU to the eco station before it decides to blow up and destroy other parts of your rig!~

I had an overclocked 8150 with 2x6950 heavily overclocked stable with an ax850.

The 15 fans probably don't draw too much current, assuming you've got quiet fans and not 1 amp server fans...

The i7 haswells actually sip power! If you look on HWC reviews they have it eating less power than an i5 2400!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 07:18 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,249

My System Specs

Smile Power Supplies

Agreed about the 750 being enough.

Personally I prefer to err on the side of more power than needed for benching,...

If you do decide to bump up your psu, I would like to suggest a Corsair.

I have all Corsairs except the 1500w which they don't make.

I have a TZ 850M that ran 2 690s, an oced 3930k, multiple fans,...I wouldn't recommend it for the 2 690s as it got pretty warm but it came through like a trooper.


FF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 08:01 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Thanks everyone!

The 750 Watt I'm running is the Corsair TX750M

The OCZ has been retired for use as a loop bleeding PSU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
750watt vs 850watt for GTX 560 ti SLI matt13382 Power Supplies 9 December 2, 2011 07:52 PM
[WTB] Want To Buy Corsair TX 750watt shayan288 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 20, 2009 10:20 AM
FS: 2x XFX Geforce 8600 GT XXX + Ultra X2 750Watt Modular PSU no_pulse Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 12, 2008 06:38 PM