Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 17, 2013, 10:26 PM
Allstar

My System Specs

Smile PSU Cables:Self-sleeve or Pre-sleeved

Hey guys. So, I want to get a new PSU, possibly one that is 1000 watts and 80+ Platinum to handle overclocked SLIs and CPU. I like the Antec HCP since Corsair doesn't have a 1000 80+ Platinum. And I want the cables sleeved to get rid of rigidity and help with the overall look of my system. I have never done cable sleeving before and I am not sure whether I should just buy the already made sleeves?

I know my current PSU can handle SLI but I like to have my cards and CPU overclocked. Overclocking will push the power envelope and I want extra headroom. Thanks for your suggestions.
Old June 18, 2013, 03:50 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Corsair have the AX960.. so close to 1000 it makes no difference.

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Old June 18, 2013, 04:08 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

I'd recommend the SeaSonic Platinum 1000
Old June 18, 2013, 05:00 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

If you have never sleeved before, I'd recommend AGAINST sleeving an entire power supply unless you are willing to put many hours of work into it.
Old June 18, 2013, 06:56 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

I like the corsair sleeving better than the straight up seasonic (even though some models are seasonics ). They're individually sleeved. Go with the AX1200i, it'll (properly) do up to 3 way sli/xfire.

If you're doing SLI I would recommend going overkill on the PSU so that it runs cool. When you push a PSU it's simple: the fan gets turned on/up more. And the sleeving doesn't have the annoying multicolour look at the terminals.