Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 01:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St John's , Newfoundland
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default gtx 650 ti on a 430 watt psu

Is a thermaltake tr2 430 watt psu (the dual 12v rail ,with a combined total of 29 amps ) enough to run a gtx 650ti ?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 01:33 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Yes. As long as you're not running older intel/amd hardware it should be fine
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 01:37 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

I'd say so. I ran an HD5830 and a Phenom I quadcore (known as power hogs) off a 450W for more than a few monthes, and nothing blew up. If you're running something like an i3 processor you should be okay.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 01:40 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

Fermi cards pull so little power it ain't even funny. 430W would be sufficient no matter what CPU you are running.

My GTX680 SLI + 3570k would run off a 430W PSU as long as it had enough connections.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 01:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,607

My System Specs

Default

I say its fine as long as your not using a power heavy cpu like a 1366 cpu, q6600, first gen phenom etc.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 02:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St John's , Newfoundland
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the replies.Also,I am runing A pentium g870 ,So it looks like I should be fine.On a side note,would I have any problems with a factory overclocked 650ti?And would I have issues overclocking the card myself?Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 03:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Will have a minimal effect on power usage. a handful of watts. It would matter if you were pushing the PSU but you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 03:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St John's , Newfoundland
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

Alright ,thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 06:17 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

My only thought in this whole matter is, although yes the 'stated' wattage of that PSU will run the setup. The chosen PSU (TT TR2) is absolutely not up to the task as a unit.
You are likely to have issues if you run that unit at any more than half capacity.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 06:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,607

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Agree, but I think a pentium chip, and 650Ti likely would only run somewhere just north of 200w at full load. I wouldn't venture into overclocking with that power supply though (a pre OC 650Ti should be fine though). If you have the funds and want to play it on the safe side though grab a antec, corsair, seasonic, or xfx PSU >500w.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enough Watt? BFighter New Builds 5 April 21, 2011 03:49 PM
watt for two GTX 295 hohohee Video Cards 24 September 24, 2009 08:49 PM
i7 920 + 2x gtx 275 = 750 watt? MittWaffle Power Supplies 8 August 14, 2009 05:07 AM
Is a 750 watt PSU Enough? Rocco_360 New Builds 17 March 20, 2009 01:48 PM
LF decent 400 to 500 watt PSU's yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 25, 2008 08:07 AM