Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 07:17 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

He won't be able to push the limits but he should be fine giving it a bump in clock speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 07:43 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
He won't be able to push the limits but he should be fine giving it a bump in clock speeds.
This PSU is ancient , and bad:

Thermaltake Purepower 430W NP Power Supply Review | Hardware Secrets

Would you want to run it on your gear? I sure as heck wouldn't.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 04:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St John's , Newfoundland
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

Alright,Il probably wait an extra few weeks til I have the money for a new psu.If I'm buying a new psu however,I will probably also think about a 7850.Well anyhow thanks for all the help everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 07:51 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurningAce705 View Post
Alright,Il probably wait an extra few weeks til I have the money for a new psu.If I'm buying a new psu however,I will probably also think about a 7850.Well anyhow thanks for all the help everyone.
Good call, best not to deep six your rig.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 08:05 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,958

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Good call, best not to deep six your rig.

-ST
Its definitely the best and most safe (for your computer) decision. Grab a seasonic, xfx, corsair (cx line is a bit lower end), or antec >500w and you will be good to go with the 7850 or gtx 660.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 08:15 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Its definitely the best and most safe (for your computer) decision. Grab a seasonic, xfx, corsair (cx line is a bit lower end), or antec >500w and you will be good to go with the 7850 or gtx 660.
My friend a few years back bought a Xion Supernova. It lived up to its name, the only thing left standing in his machine was a DVD drive lol...

The CX is much better than it was at first. Still, I am using a first Gen to power a GX2 and E7300. Not too shabby really,

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2013, 08:48 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,958

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
My friend a few years back bought a Xion Supernova. It lived up to its name, the only thing left standing in his machine was a DVD drive lol...

The CX is much better than it was at first. Still, I am using a first Gen to power a GX2 and E7300. Not too shabby really,

-ST
^^Hopefully I will never experience a PSU like that.

To expand without going off topic, I also have no issue with the corsair cx (I put the first 430w version in my parents build, but its only an i3 running integrated). The older 400w were supposed to be very good for the price (seasonic based if I recall correctly). The newest ones (at least as far as I know) are fine and definitely better than the OPs, but not to the same standard as the others I mentioned.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2013, 12:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St John's , Newfoundland
Posts: 36

My System Specs

Default

I have to run the tr2 for the moment (with the g870 and a 6670) as I have no other psu and I need the computer at the moment .But in about a week I will buy a seasonic 600 watt for 70$ (anything better for the money,or is this a good buy?)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2013, 12:10 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurningAce705 View Post
I have to run the tr2 for the moment (with the g870 and a 6670) as I have no other psu and I need the computer at the moment .But in about a week I will buy a seasonic 600 watt for 70$ (anything better for the money,or is this a good buy?)
Very Lucky in that regards BurningAce, but yeah if you can grab the 600W for $70 thats a perfect buy.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2013, 12:16 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurningAce705 View Post
I have to run the tr2 for the moment (with the g870 and a 6670) as I have no other psu and I need the computer at the moment .But in about a week I will buy a seasonic 600 watt for 70$ (anything better for the money,or is this a good buy?)
Seasonic are top notch, use them in my new main rig and love how stable they are, Use Antec blue for servers and Yes I use THERMALTAKE 750 and 850 TRX and Toughpower Grand as my backups and in my media center never had a issue with either but after the horror stories I upgraded my main to Seasonic and my servers to Antec.

At my old work we sold thousands of TR2 500w's and had very very few RMA's.

Corsair we had lots of RMA's sadly :( but almost 100% of those were doa(that we had to rma that is).

Coolermaster GARBAGE!!!

Antec never had a single RMA

Seasonic Still waiting for my first RMA never had one fail
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enough Watt? BFighter New Builds 5 April 21, 2011 03:49 PM
watt for two GTX 295 hohohee Video Cards 24 September 24, 2009 08:49 PM
i7 920 + 2x gtx 275 = 750 watt? MittWaffle Power Supplies 8 August 14, 2009 05:07 AM
Is a 750 watt PSU Enough? Rocco_360 New Builds 17 March 20, 2009 01:48 PM
LF decent 400 to 500 watt PSU's yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 2 October 25, 2008 08:07 AM