Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 10:43 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default is 500watts enough?

Hi guys

I'm just creating this thread to ask..

Is my Novatech PowerStation 500watt Power Supply packing enough of a punch when it comes to my hardware?

I've had mixed opinions on this Power Supply, some say its not strong enough, some say it will do fine.

I've taken a look inside the power supply and it looks fairly decent, not no cheaped out Bestec hardware lol

So yeah,

If 500watts isn't enough, I'm thinking about upgrading to a 750watt.. but of course, i dont want to blow £100+ if I don't have to

Many thanks,
OC-Guru
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 11:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,494

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't go any less or add another GPU but 500W is fine for what you have. I think Novatechs are rebranded OCZs, so there shouldn't be any concerns with reliability.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 11:59 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I also say that it's enough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:04 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

Many of the Nova's are (IIRC and dont quote me on this) made by the ChiCom mfg'er "Sirfa" (think "High Power" an actual sub of Sirfa, Sirtech, some Geil, some OCZ, some kingwin, some low end Enermax...and a crapton of others). Not exactly what I would classify as tier 1 but some of their kit is decent. Wouldnt be my first...or 5th choice but probably not crap either.

500 should be enough, but it is on the edge. Id do it IF it was Seasonic or other Tier 1 PSU...but it is on the edge of what I would personally be comfortable with. As the caps age they dont handle the same juice as they used to be OK with. So in 3-4 years what is on the edge may cause the magic smoke to escape. :P
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr

Last edited by AkG; January 20, 2013 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:50 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the feedback guys, can you recommend me something from novatech.co.uk I should consider upgrading to?

I've been told by a few people that the Novatech PSU is fine, but yeah, I will take any suggestions for an upgrade

Thanks again,
OC-Guru
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Its enough, but as noted above only just. If you want some longevity from your power supply with room to grow, then grab a 650w seasonic, antec, corsair, or xfx.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 07:15 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC-Guru View Post
Thanks for all the feedback guys, can you recommend me something from novatech.co.uk I should consider upgrading to?

I've been told by a few people that the Novatech PSU is fine, but yeah, I will take any suggestions for an upgrade

Thanks again,
OC-Guru
I guess it is there housebrand from that website? (like newegg does with Rosewill).
Not too much information I can dig, though if it is Sirfia , something else would always be welcome.

From looking at the site, I would say if you wanted to keep within a budget the XFX Core edition or Corsair Builder Series 600+ variety.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 08:06 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

yup right on the edge i wouldn't even oc with tat psu to be on the safe side i always try and go 100 to 250 watts over to allow for any upgrades i may want
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 11:02 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I guess it is there housebrand from that website? (like newegg does with Rosewill).
Not too much information I can dig, though if it is Sirfia , something else would always be welcome.

From looking at the site, I would say if you wanted to keep within a budget the XFX Core edition or Corsair Builder Series 600+ variety.

-ST
I will consider replacing my power supply, something like a Seasonic X-650 should do nicely, I've always been a big fan on Seasonic PSU's.. my GFs rig has a seasonic ss-600ht 600watt, I was considering switching the PSUs, but I don't think her PSU has a CPU 8pin connector.. i think the 8pin is for GPU's or something? (yellow and black cables coming from connector) also her PSU isn't modular at all. :/ all cables and no management


Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
yup right on the edge i wouldn't even oc with tat psu to be on the safe side i always try and go 100 to 250 watts over to allow for any upgrades i may want
It's been stable at 4.4Ghz for a while now?
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 11:27 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 419

My System Specs

Default

Antec-Seasonic-XFX-Corsair are good choices

Antec makes the Neo Eco lineup which are made by Seasonic, they are not super expensive but are overall great power supplies for thier price points.

A good 550w power supply can handle any current single card config out there, 650/750 def up the headroom to most dual card configs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes