Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 04:43 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default an idiot question - eatx12v

okay please explain why there is 4 and 8 pins for eatx12v (cpu to psu connector)


i used 4 pin and no problem for 2 years... but i wonder why 8 pin was there... so i want to make sure...



i use i7 920 so it uses 130watts at 100% td...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 04:51 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,047

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
okay please explain why there is 4 and 8 pins for eatx12v (cpu to psu connector)


i used 4 pin and no problem for 2 years... but i wonder why 8 pin was there... so i want to make sure...



i use i7 920 so it uses 130watts at 100% td...
Because certain CPU's require that Power when maxed to there full potential. Simple as that.

My Board won't boot if I have a 4pin plugged in.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 04:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

It just depends on the board design. Realistically the 4 pin can supply enough power for a CPU, but the 8 pin COULD supply more power if it was required. It would reduce the amperage being drawn through the each wire to allow for a more clean power if you had a very high power draw.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 05:04 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

okay thats clear... and make a sense... but the real question is... how do i know if i need 4 or 8 pins? ;\
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 07:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

a motherboard with a 4 pin slot needs a 4 pin, and a motherboard with an 8 pin will always work with an 8 pin, but will sometimes work with only a 4 pin (depends on the motherboard). As far as I know there aren't any CPU that require an 8 pin, they just have them for better OCing (atleast that's my understanding).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 07:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,221

My System Specs

Default

I'm not an electrical engineer so don't know the exact spec, but I'd hazard a guess that using the 8 pin connector allows for the 12V CPU current draw to be split between the two plugs. I've seen what drawing a lot of power through a single 12V motherboard pin can do when folding with 4 GPUs and it's not pretty. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 08:03 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,726

My System Specs

Default

There's definitely no cut and dry guide to what works and what doesn't on an 8 pin board. I have a 350W cheapo PSU that I tried using to power up my Sabertooth for the first time. It has a 4 pin and the board refused to boot. With an Antec 450W PSU, also 4 pin, the board powered up no issue.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 11:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 385

My System Specs

Default

Question on the EATX12V connector

here you go :) alot of these connectors just add extra ground pins with a "sence" circuit of some kind on the part in question. I have used 8 pin pci-e as 6 pins as an exmaple by letting the 2 extra pins "hang" without an issue. But yeh, sometimes things do not always work as one wants, all things are not built the same way of course(though there is specs, alot of makers do not always follow them as they should example-80 plus certification)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2013, 12:46 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

hmm i should search in mobo area... i did search in psu only...


oh btw... i use 8pin and i saw 2% boost on cpu ( from 3.06 to 3.3 on occt)... i dont overclock it yet... o_O?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm an idiot rfglass CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 25, 2012 12:28 PM
lol, what an idiot kyle_L Off Topic 18 March 24, 2010 06:53 PM
What an Idiot geokilla Off Topic 21 September 4, 2009 07:10 AM
Asus mother board with eatx12v help please mpis CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 25, 2008 01:46 PM
Question on the EATX12V connector yamawho CPU's and Motherboards 13 July 27, 2008 12:43 PM