Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 02:44 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default Convert 8pin CPU to 4pin CPU?

What do you do when the power supply has an 8-pin CPU connector (NOT 4+4 pin) and the motherboard only had a 4pin header?

is there actually an adapter for that?

Last edited by Generic User #2; January 12, 2013 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 03:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
What do you do when the power supply has an 8-pin CPU connector (NOT 4+4 pin) and the motherboard only had a 4pin header?

is there actually an adapter for that?
The 8 pin SHOULD split and if it doesn't then it SHOULD have a 4 pin.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 03:33 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 629

My System Specs

Default

I've never seen a PSU that had a solid 8 pin connector. Weird. Anyway, if your mobo doesn't have room for you to just plug the 8 pin in (and just leave the extra 4 hanging over) pick up a 4+4 extension like this one.

NZXT Premium Individually Sleeved Computer Cables 8PIN EPS/P4 Power Extension Cable
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 03:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

If it doesn't split and there's room on your board you can just let the extra 4 pins overhang the connector.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 05:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,861

My System Specs

Default

Agree with the above. 4 of the pins will fit, and leave the other 4 over the side.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2013, 08:40 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default

You sure you"re not looking at a 8 pin pci-e connector????
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2013, 09:28 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

Buy a converter amazon should sells them,I have one hooked up to one of my old systems
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2014, 04:49 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

You can try this adapter. I actually bought one myself bacause my PSU had the same:
8-Pin to 4-Pin ATX Adapter Cable - 4 Inches Sleeved Products Model: 8-4-ADAPTER [8-4-ADAPTER] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to convert USD to CND? Generic User #2 Off Topic 5 September 28, 2012 11:28 PM
2 x 8pin EPS Fudd Rucker Power Supplies 10 November 30, 2011 06:18 AM
Will an EPS12V (8pin) plug in to a ATX12V (4pin)? lowfat Power Supplies 11 July 15, 2010 11:15 PM
Voltage of a 4pin molex cable Phobia Power Supplies 5 May 19, 2009 10:18 PM
4pin ATX12v and 8pin EPS connector magictorch Power Supplies 6 December 6, 2007 03:39 PM