Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 01:13 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

APC Smart-UPS 1500VA LCD 120V Available for between $400 and $600 depending on where you shop.

I believe THD is spec'd at <5% at full load.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
I believe THD is spec'd at <5% at full load.
That would be examples of a UPS approaching $1000. Some are less than $1000. We consider clean to be less than 2%. That is more than $1000. All examples of a UPS that cost around $1000.

Most spend $100+ for a UPS. Not $500. It claims to be a pure sine wave. Instead, it has waveforms that are square, stepped, trapeziod - anything but the sine wave they have assumed. Some UPS manufacturers will take extreme measures to avoid admitting that reality.

The 'dirtiest' UPS output is called a pure sine wave output. Because all 'dirty' waveforms are only a sum of pure sine waves. They love and should deceive consumers who do not demand numbers with each claim.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 08:52 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by westom View Post
That would be examples of a UPS approaching $1000. Some are less than $1000. We consider clean to be less than 2%. That is more than $1000. All examples of a UPS that cost around $1000.

Most spend $100+ for a UPS. Not $500. It claims to be a pure sine wave. Instead, it has waveforms that are square, stepped, trapeziod - anything but the sine wave they have assumed. Some UPS manufacturers will take extreme measures to avoid admitting that reality.

The 'dirtiest' UPS output is called a pure sine wave output. Because all 'dirty' waveforms are only a sum of pure sine waves. They love and should deceive consumers who do not demand numbers with each claim.
$400 UPS is not 'approaching' $1000. Thats the equivalent to saying a $175,000 home is 'close' to half a million.
Not quite the right way to phrase, and you can get pure sine wave UPS units from Cyber for even half of that. Which do a perfect job in there own right.

Though, I have yet, to see some 'live' scope shots on how 'dirty' this power is out of any of the mentioned units. And if the Main power off the mains was so clean in the first place, why would telecom industry need units such as that (big or small) to clean up and filter it out so that there equipment works?

REgardless, we are getting once again off the main Topic that the OP has started. And that is neither fair to him or this thread. SO I am going to ask this once more time Westom on these forums. Please keep it in check (as I myself have to remember to do from time to time). Help the OP , stay on topic.
This is the only time I am going to say this. I do not want a response to anything I have posted in this.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 09:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Though, I have yet, to see some 'live' scope shots on how 'dirty' this power is out of any of the mentioned units. And if the Main power off the mains was so clean in the first place, why would telecom industry need units such as that (big or small) to clean up and filter it out so that there equipment works?
If discussing power in a CO, those above discussed UPSes are not used. Too unreliable, too expensive, and too inferior. Telcos use backup power systems with battery life expectancy approaching twenty years. Not three years in a cheap UPS.

Telcos also use power straight off the mains. Switch to backup power only when necessary. Supplied by batteries for up to four hours and supplied by generators for days. The same devices that provide power (ie -48 volts) from mains are also a best place to perform most line conditioning functions. To say more means first listing each anomaly for discussion

Manufacturers recommend no surge protector on their UPS output. But rarely say why. Power in battery backup mode is not the ultimate pure current (ie less than 2% THD) that advertising wants everyone to believe. And it does not have to be. Because power from the 'dirtiest' UPS is also ideal power to all electronics.

Last edited by westom; October 16, 2012 at 08:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 08:10 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Interesting to hear that your not supposed to plug a UPS into a surge protector. I had my APC smart750 plugged into a high quality tripplite TVSS surge protector for a year, and now my tripplite smart1500rm2u for a year, and absolutely no issues.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 10:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Interesting to hear that your not supposed to plug a UPS into a surge protector.
You have it backwards. That mistake would have been obvious if provided reasons why were also understood.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes