Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 28, 2012, 11:40 AM
Question the true power of PSU's

Hello guys,im a complete noob in PSU's and i was wondering if a 730W psu can hold a PC that uses 700w,for example,will it die faster?

Also,i have this PSU Be Quiet ! Alimentation Pure Power L8-730W CM 80PLUS Bronze (BN183) : achat / vente Alimentation PC sur ldlc.com

And i don't know about PSU voltage and stuff,i know this one can handle GTX 560 ti SLI + i5 2500k easily but even if the watts are ok,i was wondering if there wound not be problems with voltages,amps,etc.. i don't know anything about PSUs

will i be able to overclock this SLI with that PSU? i hope i'm not off topic :D
thx for your help!
Old September 28, 2012, 11:55 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Wattage and quality is all you ever need worry about, the PSU handles all of the voltages.
Old September 28, 2012, 12:04 PM

My System Specs

In Short a PSU is rated (or should be the quality ones) to run at full capacity continuous capacity.
Now, there are a few things to note. Running a PSU at its highest capacity means that it will be generating its most heat, and will be less efficent than if it was operating at 70% say of capacity.

As well, the hotter capacitors get, the shorter there life becomes so the side effect of running near max can sometimes translate to a shorter life on your PSU. Espically since capacitors become aged and lose there capacity over time.

So, you should always aim (IMO, everyone else has a different theory on this, and are correct too sometimes) to do no more than say 80% of rated capacity.

Your BeQuiet! unit is decent, they tend to be made by good OEM's though for your specific one I am not sure of.