Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 03:51 PM
taimoorali007's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default no earth, what to do?

in my home, as it is old No Earth in my
house and i got gaming rig! The story
is as psu comes with 3pin cord and
when i plug in the cord in switch on
the button but pc remain off, case
gives me shock sometime and signal static like sound comes from psu! As
nothing is grounded so no use of 3pin! plz plz, help me, m getting crazy plz
help me to ground atleast my pc and
psu. Thnx
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 03:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taimoorali007 View Post
in my home, as it is old No Earth in my
house and i got gaming rig! The story
is as psu comes with 3pin cord and
when i plug in the cord in switch on
the button but pc remain off, case
gives me shock sometime and signal static like sound comes from psu! As
nothing is grounded so no use of 3pin! plz plz, help me, m getting crazy plz
help me to ground atleast my pc and
psu. Thnx
No earth?

Get a UPS ASAP.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 04:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default

A UPS isn't going to protect anything if there is no ground wire.

Get and install a GFCI outlet for any devices requiring ground. These will be very good for protecting yourself from shock. Old house, Copper wire but no ground - Electrical Wiring Forum - GardenWeb

EDIT: Long term you should look into rewiring any outlets like the one where your computer is plugged in with a proper ground connection.
__________________
We are shaped by fate, just as we shape it.

Last edited by Chareon; August 7, 2012 at 04:15 PM.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 04:13 PM
taimoorali007's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chareon View Post
A UPS isn't going to protect anything if there is no ground wire.

Get and install a GFCI outlet for any devices requiring ground. These will be very good for protecting yourself from shock.
thnx, seems practical but i heard somewhere that connect case with ground tap with wire! Will that work? No ground this is not good son i'll be shifting and earth is there. But it is dangerous to run pc without earth?
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 04:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chareon View Post
A UPS isn't going to protect anything if there is no ground wire.

Get and install a GFCI outlet for any devices requiring ground. These will be very good for protecting yourself from shock. Old house, Copper wire but no ground - Electrical Wiring Forum - GardenWeb

EDIT: Long term you should look into rewiring any outlets like the one where your computer is plugged in with a proper ground connection.
If there is no earth that generally means poor ground to the fuse box and if there is a poor or no ground to fuse box then how can you ground outlets?
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 04:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default

It's only dangerous really in the event of a surge. The system will run fine as long as nothing unexpected like lightning (or some other source of a power surge) happens.

There are more specifics relating to how surges would affect it, see quote here for a good description I found on another site.
Quote:
The surge protection function becomes less useful in the absence of a ground, though. It should still stop rapid spikes (which are blocked by inductors in series with the line and neutral conductors, no ground connection there) and surges between line and neutral (a MOV is connected between L and N with no ground there either).

What would worry me is the MOVs between line and ground, and between neutral and ground, to protect against common mode surges and surges on the neutral. Not only do these NOT function without a ground connection, but I can't see what stops them from coupling dangerous voltages onto the ungrounded "ground" conductor in the event of that type of surge.

I would be concerned about touching any metal parts of protected equipment which could become momentarily electrified when connected to this type of surge protector when a surge occurs, and the ground isn't really grounded.
EDIT: As for the rewiring, typically you drive a stake into the ground a set distance (check your local bylaws for what the requirement on that is), then run new wire to the outlets that contain all 3 wires so you can properly ground everything. Basically a major renovation project, but one that you can do in stages to each outlet as required if necessary. Might be worth hiring an electrician if you feel uncomfortable with doing the work yourself.
__________________
We are shaped by fate, just as we shape it.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 04:47 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

Hire an electrician and get it done proper. Bad power makes computers do extremely weird things sometimes and it's impossible to troubleshoot.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 05:28 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Hire an electrician and get it done proper. Bad power makes computers do extremely weird things sometimes and it's impossible to troubleshoot.
werd ^^^.....bro-in-law damn near commited hari-kari before bad ground was identified.
__________________
heatware
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 01:49 AM
taimoorali007's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

Now m worried, could every component get damage due to static, i mean like psu and how to diagnose that is there something bad going on in my pc or everything's fine and arrange for electrician ASAP?
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 02:54 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I have many computers running from bars without the ground pins and I never encounter a problem. Of course I don't recommend to do so ,but your PC problem are not related to a missing ground.

Last edited by botat29; August 8, 2012 at 03:04 AM.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Wine on Earth!!! Soullessone21 Off Topic 0 December 19, 2011 06:51 PM
Earth Hour geokilla Off Topic 10 March 28, 2010 12:52 AM
This Could be BAD for the Earth Surfer_2099 Off Topic 7 November 25, 2009 07:35 PM
Earth Hour geokilla Off Topic 58 March 31, 2009 09:36 AM
scorched earth Krixxer Gaming 8 March 29, 2008 05:46 PM