Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2012, 10:29 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Exclamation CX 600W V2 for 6950 crossfire?

Hey ,

I was thinking of picking up an additional 6950,But not sure if my PSU would be up to the job?..i think probably not.

Corsair CX 600W V2

My rig specs,Not overclocked but might do in future.

Quote:
3570K|
Asrock Z77 pro4|
6950 2GB|
Vertex 2LE 60GB (Raid0)|
8GB Ripjaws 1600Mhz CL7|
Xonar D1|Corsair
CX 600 V2|
Fractal Design Arc.
Id like to max out BF3...at the moment with a mix of medium & high i get decent fps but anything higher its not smooth game play at 1920x1080.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2012, 10:34 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

After experience with the same setup, 650w is the very lowest I'd recommend.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2012, 10:55 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Yea I would think that your 600 should do it but maybe getting close to maxing out . here is a link to a online calculator for PSU wattage but I think you should be fine. also keep in mind the age of the PSU will be a factor .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 04:25 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

I would say no. The psu only has 2 pci-e connectors and you will want four for two 6950.

From personal experience, when I added a third 6950 onto my corsair ax850 it blue screened, when 2x6950 were working flawlessly.

I do not know if it was not enough wattage or the molex to pcie connector that came with the card not being robust enough for the card's needs. But I would not be surprised by hard lockups and blue screens running a 3570K with 2x6950.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 04:42 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

Each card can use anywhere from 200 to 240 watts. I would say to be on the safe side and not stress you PSU, I would be looking in the 700watt range to make sure it's will handle your system and both of the cards going at once and not run out of power. Always make sure you have more power then what you need. A PSU running at maximum is NOT running at it's most power efficent.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 07:24 AM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

no. Not even close to enough amps on the 12v rail. I am surprised it is running 1 6950 with out a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 02:21 PM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tianfeng View Post
no. Not even close to enough amps on the 12v rail. I am surprised it is running 1 6950 with out a problem.
It's not the highest quality psu out there but it's still fine for his setup running one card. His main system is only drawing 120watts max without the card. With it even overclocked and running at max, one 6950 would draw about 250watt max. Even if I'm wrong and that number is higher he still has enough power to run it. Just not enough to run two cards.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 03:01 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevakonaza View Post
Hey ,

I was thinking of picking up an additional 6950,But not sure if my PSU would be up to the job?..i think probably not.

Corsair CX 600W V2

My rig specs,Not overclocked but might do in future.



Id like to max out BF3...at the moment with a mix of medium & high i get decent fps but anything higher its not smooth game play at 1920x1080.

No. My (2) 6950's running BF3 with ultra settings hover around 580 watts of the wall. With furmark, its hovers around 592 watts.

So you need a min of 750 watts at least.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 04:29 PM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenor View Post
It's not the highest quality psu out there but it's still fine for his setup running one card. His main system is only drawing 120watts max without the card. With it even overclocked and running at max, one 6950 would draw about 250watt max. Even if I'm wrong and that number is higher he still has enough power to run it. Just not enough to run two cards.

It is just barely enough. A 6950 pulls 38-40 amps on the 12volt. a cx600 only has 40 amps on the 12v. Just enough. The gtx 570 for example says minimum 600watts but needs 42 amps in the 12v. These low end power supplies will run this stuff but for how long this is a bottom of the barrel psu running 300 dollar gpu. Why would you subject your card to this?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2012, 06:57 PM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tianfeng View Post
It is just barely enough. A 6950 pulls 38-40 amps on the 12volt. a cx600 only has 40 amps on the 12v. Just enough. The gtx 570 for example says minimum 600watts but needs 42 amps in the 12v. These low end power supplies will run this stuff but for how long this is a bottom of the barrel psu running 300 dollar gpu. Why would you subject your card to this?
I would love to know where you are getting this information from. EVERYONE INCLUDING AMD DEALS IN WATTS. Every Video Card Manufacturer states their power requirements in watts. Why in the world would you confuse the issue with tossing in amps into this? AMD's own website states a 500 watt PSU to run your system and this card. Aside from being wrong and bringing an nVidia card into this discussion that have no bearing since we are talking about a 6950 you are just making it harder for the OP to make a decision.

We are telling him to pick up a Quality Brand Name 750 watt PSU which will more then work well in his case.

To the OP:
I invite you to take a quick check on the web on other websites that review your type of card and see how much power it pulls from a total system. The card normally pulls around 200 watts so you can get an idea of the total system draw when you want to run 2 of them.

Here are some examples:
AMD Radeon HD 6950 1GB Review
http://www.************/article/2011...card_review/12

Please take all of this into consideration when you make your choice of your PSU and get a good quality brand name unit. Ignore tianfeng, i'm sorry but he really doesn't know what he is talking about.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool

Last edited by Ravenor; July 26, 2012 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BFBC2 and 6950 crossfire TedShackley Video Cards 2 March 24, 2012 06:23 PM
HD 6950 2gb crossfire with 1gb? Aimbayya Video Cards 9 December 6, 2011 09:32 PM
6950 2gb crossfire Mistertuxedopants Video Cards 15 September 29, 2011 12:31 PM
6950 crossfire 16x/x4 bad? bcall12 Video Cards 8 August 1, 2011 05:40 PM
6950 Crossfire 1gb tianfeng Video Cards 2 July 2, 2011 01:10 AM