Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 12:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
So I should use the sale price of those units for an idea of your budget then?

They are older Cyberpower platforms. I still think getting there newest one (Cyberpower) would be ideal, or the Pro from APC.

APC BACK-UPS Pro 1000 Power Saving Uninterruptible Power Supply 1000VA 600W - AMERICAN POWER CONVERSION - BR1000G

Cyberpower CP1000PFCLCD 1000VA 600W PFC UPS AVR GreenPower LCD Pure Sine Wave Output Serial USB - CyberPower - CP1000PFCLCD

My SLI setup on the above mentioned units had a run time of 18min and that is with an older powerhungry i7 + 2 GTX460SC's. and a dozen other things in.

They should be more than enough for your setup. The front LCD Is awesome.

-ST
Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't realize the two units that I mentioned in the op were older units. Of the two that you mentioned, which one would you go with? I've only had experience with APC, but I heard Cyberpower offered better value, which was why I've been thinking of getting one of their units.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 04:50 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 531

My System Specs

Default

If your not in a huge rush, keep an eye out at staples. Not a whole lot cheaper but that 1500va goes on sale at staples for ~$120 give or take $5. Past that I don't really have anything to add, just can get them cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 05:17 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't realize the two units that I mentioned in the op were older units. Of the two that you mentioned, which one would you go with? I've only had experience with APC, but I heard Cyberpower offered better value, which was why I've been thinking of getting one of their units.
Nowadays I would have no problem suggesting either one. They share some parts from the same supplier (LCD).
My only gripe is the APC Software is a bit better. Otherwise get whichever one you want.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 05:26 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

Personally, I love OptiUPS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:22 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Personally, I love OptiUPS.
They are a pretty good budget unit, whats the software Like SKy?

That is one thing that APC has always seemed to excel at.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:30 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

I never use software for my UPS units to be honest.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:35 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Ahh okay. NM that one then, I always enjoy using the software controls.
Have a lot of good info and such (Except Eaton so far).

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 03:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
If your not in a huge rush, keep an eye out at staples. Not a whole lot cheaper but that 1500va goes on sale at staples for ~$120 give or take $5. Past that I don't really have anything to add, just can get them cheaper.
Which unit are you referring to?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Various PC Components (Corsair TX750W,Athlon II X2 25, 6GB DDR3, HD 6450) Asad_A203 Buy/Sell & Trade 21 July 25, 2014 12:24 AM
OCZ Technology Unveils the PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III Power Supply Series Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 8 November 9, 2011 07:48 PM
PC Power & Cooling Unveils New 760W Silencer Power Supply FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 December 18, 2010 03:53 PM