Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 03:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default ocz capacitor

i have a ocz zx850w power supply, and i want to know what the capacitor is for that is on the pei connector?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 03:12 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

over current protection iirc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 03:58 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,854
Default

a filter or reserve for line voltage to smooth out AC~ line ripple
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 04:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

It's for smoothing out the DC to (in theory) prevent coil whine. Nothing to do with protections or AC. PSU's are for converting AC to DC, if it were outputing AC you'd have a dead system.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 04:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

That would have been my guess as well, but damn.... that's quite the cludge.... are they all like that?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 05:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

would is hurt if i remove it
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 05:27 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newCOmpuTerguy View Post
would is hurt if i remove it
what that ugly pimple lol yes its there for a reason

a filter or reserve for DC voltage

a cheap OCZ fix to poor engineering EDIT: ment FSP the maker, OCZ name just on it

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 29, 2012 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 05:33 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

put some heatshrink around it if you dont like the way it looks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 06:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

i was going to sleeve each wire, but i found that capacitor there, not sure what to do but sleeve it and shrink around one of the wires
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2012, 06:10 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

sleeve it to the capacitor then heatshrink the rest.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Looking for a CAPACITOR! Killswitch Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 8, 2011 02:23 PM
RMA PSU for that capacitor whine? JD Troubleshooting 18 July 6, 2010 10:07 AM
Leaked Capacitor in my PSU? hen555 Troubleshooting 1 May 19, 2009 02:45 PM