Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 11:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default HCP850 tick sound

Hi all,

My new HCP850 does a "tick" sound when I turn off the computer (when the PSU doesn't need to work anymore).

Is this "tick" normal? If so, where does it come from / why?

Thanks all.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 12:07 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Is it the fan running on for a little while after shutdown? I never shut my PCs down so wouldn't see this behaviour, but IIRC, some PSUs keep cooling until they hit a certain temp.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 12:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

I will have to look closely but I don't think the fan continues to run. The "tick" sounds seems to come from capacitors any any other components other than the fan.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 02:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 385

My System Specs

Default

Well, I know my PSU being an HX750 does tick between bios to windows loading, another time loading into windows, and another time on a shutdown slightly before it powers down. If it is just one quick click, I wouldn`t worry to much about it, alot of power supplies now ship with caps that hold a larger charge, it needs to disappate, or for that matter "switch" to do whatever the hell it likes to do, usually a sounds something like a pop button or something along those lines, I am assuming its normal behavior for the way they are designed now, have heard other folks mention it as well. I think I would rather hear a "click" then coil whine any day of the week. Its kind of a comforting click once you get used to it, its letting you know its happy :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 05:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Hi all, I just noticed there is also a small red light flashing one time when the tick occurs.

I guess it is a LED or something? Antec won't answer me :(
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 06:31 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayoo View Post
Hi all, I just noticed there is also a small red light flashing one time when the tick occurs.

I guess it is a LED or something? Antec won't answer me :(
If your worried about it, set an RMA up, most decent companies will RMA a noisy PSU no questions asked.(I know corsair does for loud coils)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 06:36 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

sounds like a relay doing the ticking when PSU switches modes(caps are filled an ready to work), as to red light is warning that not enough juice suppling unit or site fault wiring

Full suite of industrial grade protection: - Over current protection (OCP) - Over voltage protection (OVP) - Short circuit protection (SCP) - Over power protection (OPP) - Over temperature protection (OTP)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Ok, if I understand correctly, either the juice is beeing bottlenecked somewhere or faulty wiring in my house?

My condo is built end 2010, used for demo and I moved in late-May 2011. The only thing between the comp and the wall plug is an IGo Green Tower power bar. The PSU power cord is the one provided with my old Quattro 850w.

Power Smart Tower Surge Protector - PM00011-0001 pm000110001 at iGo, Inc.

@Adzsask: Here is my last 2 or 3 months

TPQ850: Boom, RMAed (took one month). Fries up both GTX570 (replaced with refurb (no ASUS stickers) :S)
TPQ850: Whining sound, RMAed (took one month)
HCP850: What I just explained.

My computer is new from end-May 2011. Changed so far:
2x PSU
2x GTX570 (SLI fried up)
1x BluRay drive (whining sound, probably caused by first PSU boom but RAMed easy with LG)

So yeah I am tired of waiting for new parts .
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 08:28 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Well i think it might be antec slipping, my friend has put 3 PSU's into his PC I built him in a year! all antec, so maybe this isn't just a freak thing and the quality of the units are suffering(BTW I RMA'ed his last PSU and sold the new replacement, tossed a seasonic in no more problems)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 09:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

I will see to do the same then (if the unit is defective afterall).

What would be the best replacement? (see my specs)
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooked up tv sound out to sound card in but I don't hear the TV Shadowmeph Audio 1 September 18, 2009 10:41 AM
Worth it to buy a sound card or will MOBO sound be enough? Sandro_Bit CPU's and Motherboards 18 August 22, 2009 09:44 AM
Installed sound card, but no sound jcmaz Troubleshooting 5 June 22, 2009 12:39 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM