Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
View Poll Results: Is the PSU dying ?
yes 3 33.33%
no 3 33.33%
maybe 3 33.33%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 11:56 AM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Just RMA shipped both the GPU and PSU today. $65 shipping to the USA !!! :(

Hopefully it's not my motherboard and/or CPU. Out of warranty and replacement soo costly...

EDIT: I just called them and they will cross ship a replacement !!!!!!

Last edited by THS; February 16, 2012 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 08:47 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Corsair are usually very awesome. Not so long ago my 600T was having issue with a fan that was defective and they shipped me a brand new case. Only problem is that it took me 6 month to get rid of both case XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 07:34 PM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Got my replacement Corsair 1000W PSU.

Reinstalled everything in my new FT-02 case.

Everything was looking good but it crashed again.

BC Code 124

Someone pls help me figure out what's wrong lol.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 08:36 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

first have you gotten all hardware drivers to date, for your MB i see BIOS Version 2101 with memory fixes
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2012, 08:42 PM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
first have you gotten all hardware drivers to date, for your MB i see BIOS Version 2101 with memory fixes
Yup.

I'm going to try disabling the onboard sound. I heard that may fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 03:30 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

After this much BSOD windows could be corrupted.
At least for now we can say it's probably not the PSU.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:26 AM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

I think its fixed now. It may have been the onboard sound card (its a card but its actually onboard)

Odd because I tried running without it before.

I am 100% sure the Faulty PSU was to blame. Its rails were slowly failing, voltages were a bit off and it may have killed my 570 and maybe even the sound card.

Replacement PSU looks good. SLI 8800s working great.
Voltages are stable and pretty much to spec.

Thanks all for help and ty corsair for fast replacement :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HX1000W Question ToXic Power Supplies 16 December 2, 2010 11:44 PM
HX1000W sinticfury Power Supplies 5 June 30, 2009 02:23 PM
Corsair HX1000W bangegat Power Supplies 3 May 21, 2009 05:44 AM