Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 07:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default How much could I load my corsair TX 750 V2

Hi,

I have a corsair TX 750 V2 PSU
I currently run a
Intel 2600k
P8Z68-v gen3 mobo
2x4Gb of corsair vengeance 1600 Mhz ram
EVGA GTX 580
A blue ray combo drive
a crucial M4 SSD
and a laptop toshiba 5400rpm hard drive

I intend to watercool the CPU and graphics card
will my PSU be enough to run a second GTX 580 or do i need to change it when I go SLI?
Does anyone have maximum power consumption of the items listed above?
and how many watts of a margin do I need to leave to be on the safe side?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 08:20 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

I like to leave between 100-150W as 'breathing room' on my PSU's. Although yes they can power things up to 100% of there rated capacity, it will shorten the life of it if you do that.

That being said I would prefer to see an 850-900W for SLI580's.
You could probably do it on the TX750 but it would be really tight.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 08:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

Thanks!
Ill upgrade then to be on the safe side....
now that my build is complete, i have to infest the watercooling forum with my questions to put together a custom WC-ing system
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 03:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,861

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't go sli 580 on a 750w either. Min 850w IMO.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 07:34 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

I have heard of people killing their corsair 750w units with SLI 580's so personally i wouldn't try it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 07:39 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

Nope, you can't really run all that on a 750W power supply if you plan to overclock them or watercool them. I was running 2 580s with the more power hungry i7 940 and I could easily exceed 850W when they were all fully loaded and overclocked.

Running on SB though I can't seem to push over 850W when I had the 580s.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 11:00 PM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Grab a 1000W like corsair HX1050W :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
smp 8 = 13% CPU Load? zoob HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 19, 2011 03:18 PM
BFG 260 won't Load up on my DFI p35 lanparty mb Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 6 August 11, 2010 01:57 PM
www.hardwarecanucks.com won't load without the www. Pax Suggestions & Feedback 11 June 13, 2010 09:13 PM
BF BC2 Load times Rison Gaming 2 April 18, 2010 08:21 AM
High load on a UPS odis172 Power Supplies 3 January 11, 2010 10:12 AM