Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 10:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default Do I need a new power supply?

I have had my OCZ Fatal1ty 400w power supply for quite a while now, but i think i might need to change up for the new computer hardware coming in.

The new stuff includes a Core i7 920, and a GTX 460, both would be under water, and overclocked.

What would be a safe range for powering these? Or should be 400w still hold up fine?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:06 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

i wouldn't.

the two words ocz and fatality scare me
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:18 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

You might as well get a good 750w gold psi. It will give you lots of headroom for your system and any future upgrade. Check out an antec high current pro, Seaonix x760, silver stone strider 750, maybe even something from FSP's autumn line. It's always best to get a solid unit and spend your money once.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:18 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

lol, I got this on sale from NCIX a few years ago, but they held up pretty well so far.

Hmm.. I've been looking at the Seasonics, and they look good albeit a bit pricey, might be something i would have to drop some serious cash for.

I've seen some online sites selling Mushkin Enhanced for really good prices, how are those? The online reviews seems to praise them.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:32 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
i wouldn't.

the two words ocz and fatality scare me
Or just OCZ and Power Supply. I'd get a better quality power supply and maybe up to 500W for added space for future upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:34 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I haven't any experience with mushkins line of psu's. I would imagine they are ok. The gold psu's are still a bit pricey. Maybe check out a silver?
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; December 19, 2011 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:36 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
I haven't any experience with mushrooms line of psu's. I would imagine they are ok. The gold psu's are still a bit pricey. Maybe check out a silver?
Only the gold's were given good review's.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:48 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
Only the gold's were given good review's.
The silvers are still good just a bit older so they are cheaper.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 11:52 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,081

My System Specs

Default

With your components you could (IMO) get by on the current PSU, but not with an good OC...therefore get a new one. I would say quality 600-650 watt to give you a bit of head room if you upgrade graphics card.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2011, 06:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

Seasonic is the OEM for most Corsair and XFX, you can also look at these 2 for a change. For sure, XFX Core edition line is built by Seasonic.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Various PC Components (Corsair TX750W,Athlon II X2 25, 6GB DDR3, HD 6450) Asad_A203 Buy/Sell & Trade 21 July 25, 2014 01:24 AM
OCZ Technology Unveils the PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III Power Supply Series Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 8 November 9, 2011 08:48 PM
PC Power & Cooling Unveils New 760W Silencer Power Supply FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 December 18, 2010 04:53 PM