Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:59 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default -5V ATX

Hey guys!
I am searching a PSU for a client that still have a -5V pin in the ATX 24pin connector. Apparently his mobo need it to post.
Can anyone tell me why this particular pin have been removed and also, if you know any PSU that still have it?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 06:04 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

no? no one?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 06:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

-5v is a old ATX standard if I recall correctly which isn't found on modern psus cause it provided power for the ISA bus.

If you need a power supply that has -5 you'll need to dredge up an old 20 yr old PSU that most likely will not work on newer hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:28 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,726

My System Specs

Default

You can find cheapo off-brand P4 compatible PSUs with -5v in some mom&pop PC shops.. at least where I live.
I seem to recall snipping the -5v on a couple because the Power Mac motherboards I was dinking with at the time did not need it. :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:31 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

i might have one in my computer graveyard i'll take a look for you if you'd like.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 05:46 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Since it's for the ISA controller it's impossible that the guy mobo need it. it's a 2-3 years old asus that wont power up and the guy is 100% sure it's the PSU and absolutly want that pin because he said it's for the power button...I'll just send him walk away...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes