Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:00 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default I DID IT!!!! Serious power consumption

Global Warming be DAMNED!!!! Now if only there were HW Points awarded for power consumption.



I haven't seen this done before without a static load but here it is.....

The 1KW PSUs are already crying for mommy....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:04 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Holy Crap!

And you argued about the power consumption of F@H, hypocrite
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:04 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

You having trouble getting your car started?

Seriously, what all did you have it hooked up to?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:05 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

LOL!!!! Well, this is just for one-hour spurts every time I test I 1KW+ PSU...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:28 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default



I would have probably been able to take it further with another 8800GTX but a "budget" PSU blew the living crap out of my SLI connector and one of my 8800GTS 320MB cards...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:45 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

If you don't mind me asking, what is that case on the right? Looks nice and big...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:47 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Gigabyte Aurora 3d ..

pain in the ass for cable management.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 10:49 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Yeah. Aurora 570. I think the cable management is OK but I like it because it is nice and light.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 04:01 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

LOL!!!! You just answered a question I was about to start a thread for. I have to choose between my 800W BFG and a Coolermaster 1000W (Got it for free) to keep for my system. I know I will probably never come close to 1000W, but seeing this made my choice for me.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 04:15 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Remember, even at 80% efficiency 1043W means that the ACTUAL load on the system is a little over 800W. On a 1200W PSU like the one I was running, this king of load is just fine but this would be pushing it for a 1000W unit if it was the load you were putting on your PSU on a daily basis.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F@H vs. Power Consumption cujo HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 August 8, 2007 07:32 AM