Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 06:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Talking Explain me this

not power supply related,but power related.

so i got a second ac unit, and out of curiosity i plugged it into me trusty kill a watt...figures were around 175-185 watts

then a few minutes later i look again and it showed over a thousand watts

thinking the kill a watt went or is going, i plugged one of the pc's im building and it
was showing what a dual gtx 580 build should show under furmark(insert power jokes here)

so what the frog gives with the ac unit?? :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 06:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Probably when the compressor kicks in. It puts a huge draw for a few seconds, which is what it likely read.

That is what causes these portable AC's to blow fuses/breakers whenever they "click in".

Same goes with your fridge too, starting up compressors puts a huge strain on the wall outlet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 06:34 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

What JD said, the compressor kicks in to cool the coolant, then shuts off for a while and kicks in when the coolant gets warm.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 06:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool,thanks guys. but 800 and spare watts of difference,good god!

also i saw that when left on auto it never goes over 200 watts. weird.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 08:47 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 952
Default

So then what was your pc power draw at idle? I'm curious to know what my machine draws when I leave it on for a weekend.
I think my cpu maxes out at 90w, and I've got a gtx560Ti.
AMD Phenom 9650 http://support.amd.com/us/Processor_TechDocs/43375.pdf

Last edited by On2wheels; August 26, 2011 at 08:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 09:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

memory fails me.

at idle expect maybe 150 watts for your pc?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 09:16 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Of topic, but is there anywhere online in canada that you can buy a killawatt or something similar, for under 40?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 09:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

uh ya AC units take a lot of power

theres the normal mode they will run in , then kick into a higher mode
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 09:40 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

@fly intteresting question. i looked and all i could find was ebay..unless i didnt look properly.
the blue planet one is nice too,though the kill a watt seems a bit simpler=more durable,at least in me humble experience.

@ultima. yep. did not quite expect that. and the funny thing is it does not dent the monthly payments much either. then again we don't have scorching days all
summer long up here in cana da
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2011, 11:02 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Hopefully the same is true, I'm running a 15,000BTU AC in my room, hopefully it doesn't cut in to my hydro much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
somebody explain me this pretty please _dangtx_ Troubleshooting 18 January 24, 2011 10:14 PM
Can someone please explain to me the difference between.. Opeqa16x CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 10, 2010 08:02 PM
Can you explain why this happens? Mark Off Topic 7 September 29, 2009 08:16 AM
please explain about this reviews CTA Air Cooling 14 August 16, 2008 10:44 PM
noob Please explain????? WolfBane Off Topic 10 July 20, 2008 06:35 PM