Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2011, 04:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,911

My System Specs

Default

Agree with others...its when the compressor kicks in. That's why if you ever need a generator the minimum recommended is much more powerful than your would think it should be if you base it on the power requirements written on an airconditioner, fridge, deep freezer, etc. The initial power spike on a compressor is substantial.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2011, 02:27 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,985

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Hopefully the same is true, I'm running a 15,000BTU AC in my room, hopefully it doesn't cut in to my hydro much.
It will. If you're running it a lot, expect a $50 or more increase/month. My 8000 BTU is sitting here off after I saw last months power bill
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 01:01 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Of topic, but is there anywhere online in canada that you can buy a killawatt or something similar, for under 40?
Yup, Canadian tire:

Blue Planet Electronic Energy Meter | Canadian Tire

I find it interesting my gaming rig with Kombustor + Prime 95, i see my rig draw around 600 watts from the wall.

But using a power supply calculator, it should be using close to 950 watts. So i should take the power supply calculator with a grain of salt? or the Kill-a-watt?
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 01:07 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
It will. If you're running it a lot, expect a $50 or more increase/month. My 8000 BTU is sitting here off after I saw last months power bill
i run it about 3-4 hours a day, mostly only at night when im at home.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 09:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

trust what you see at the wall maite. those online power calculators,sometimes,greatly exagerate things.

that or they take in account a beefy overhead,which is not that bad either
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 09:51 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Well, I'm hoping for the latter.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 11:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
... if you ever need a generator the minimum recommended is much more powerful than you would think it should be if you base it on the power requirements ...
Just as a rule in electric engineering design, when you design something that will be powered by an electric engine, the power of the engine should be chosen in such a way that the task at 100% will be run only with 60% of the engine power. In this way the engine can cope fine with overloads from the task. A 50% spike from the task could still be run by the engine while being in the full specs of normal functioning. Also as a rule the engine should support 120% overload from the task for 20 mins and an overload of 150% for 5 minutes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 06:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Oh yes, sorry for being so late, i remembered : every electric engine when it spools up takes magnetic energy from the network in order to excite the wiring inside. When it stops, it will give it back, that is why you saw such a difference in power reading.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
somebody explain me this pretty please _dangtx_ Troubleshooting 18 January 24, 2011 10:14 PM
Can someone please explain to me the difference between.. Opeqa16x CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 10, 2010 08:02 PM
Can you explain why this happens? Mark Off Topic 7 September 29, 2009 08:16 AM
please explain about this reviews CTA Air Cooling 14 August 16, 2008 10:44 PM
noob Please explain????? WolfBane Off Topic 10 July 20, 2008 06:35 PM