Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 06:07 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default Rate my psu(s) choice....

Crosshair IV mobo
Sempron 140 cpu
12gb ddr3 ram (cuz its lying around, only need about 2gb)
6 video cards drawing 225w each. 3 of these will have molex connections soldered into pcie extender cables to prevent burning out the board with so much power running through it. But all still require 2 pci-e power connections.
1 misc hard drive sata probably
3-8 fans, probably regular variety no super turbine delta fans just whats lying around

I was thinking a 750w to run the sytem/fans/2gpus and then a 1000w or better for 4 gpu's. It would very nice if they had enough pcie connectors to minimize clutter using molex-pcie adapters...

Right now I see this on sale Corsair Gaming Series GS 800W Power Supply at Memory Express Computers along with this Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 1200W Power Supply at Memory Express Computers wich would support me cable/wattage wise.

ps. Using these https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?ma...8e602df3c9d3ee to allow for 6 gpu's, not for gaming.... just need a connection to the gpu and the pci bus is fast enough for my purpose.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 06:33 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

You're insane 4Door, but I love it.

My only suggestion would be to change out that GS Corsair. ITs not quite the best thing corsair has, and not seeing any specs for its ripple and PF I wouldn't want you to burn it out.
Grab a TX instead, or perhaps even a Silverstone Strider?

I'm assuming a Folding Fort?

Good Luck!

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 07:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

The AX1200W although a Flextronics OEM, has a quite a few redundant ground/other wires like the Seasonic X series. Since you're actually using that much wattage it would be my first choice over other high wattage units, regardless of OEM.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 07:04 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
You're insane 4Door, but I love it.
I'm assuming a Folding Fort?
ST
Not quite, but I could test gpu folding when/if I get it all together. Its intended use if for another number crunching scheme.

I too like the silverstone striders..... maybe I should go for quality not cheapness.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 03:54 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Then go for AX750 / AX1200. Can't go wrong.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 04:12 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

4DoorGTZ you also need a 20amp wall outlet to feed that monster
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 06:31 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how about one 1500 watter? :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 08:23 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
how about one 1500 watter? :)
How about you read what he is doing....
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 06:07 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
4DoorGTZ you also need a 20amp wall outlet to feed that monster
I wont be maxing out both PSU's it will probably end up being 1400w from the wall, it will require its own curcuit tho. Currently have 1100w+500w+crt monitor on one curcuit just fine.


I stoped by memex today and got 2 strider gold's. I like how the guy trys to sell me the product protection plan "you know for higher end items its worth the money" to wich I replied "I've only ever had a piece of crap $30 psu blow on me and it was overloaded" and he replies "well maybe you're due then?"

lol

Quality pieces, not overloaded will run for 5yrs +
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flow rate, overrated? lowfat Water Cooling 27 April 6, 2011 12:26 PM
How would you rate these monitor brands? AllCanadianAllDayBaby Peripherals 12 July 20, 2010 07:25 AM
S.M.A.R.T seek error rate? davidbongman Troubleshooting 2 July 2, 2010 06:33 PM
What can hinder burst rate? somecanadianguy Storage 31 November 29, 2009 06:07 PM
Command rate question Wurmer RAM 3 August 14, 2009 06:46 AM