Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 09:00 PM
tgraszat14's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 114
Default Wondering if my psu is adequate enough

I'm planning on running:

XFX 680i LT SLI mobo
XFX 8800 GT 512MB vid card, not in SLI
Asus 18x18 DVD+R Optical Drive
Seagate Barracuda 250GB Hard Drive
Corsair 2x1gb Ram
Intel Core 2 Duo e6850 3.0 gz Processor

I was planning on using the Silverstone Element 500W PSU
Will it be enough? this is my first build and I don't want to short it out or bust anything.
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 09:24 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

Unless someone else knows enough to question the credentials/guts of that particular PSU, 500 watts will definitely run that combination. You'll want something better if you ever add another video card, though.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 09:09 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

here are the minumum system specs from tigerdirect for the xfx alpha dog: the silverstream seems to be enough, depends on amps in 12 volt rails.
  • 1GB of system memory
  • CD-ROM drive
  • 50MB of available hard disk drive space for basic driver installation
  • Microsoft Windows XP operating system
  • PCI Express-compliant motherboard with one vacant PCI Express x16 slot
  • 450W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 30A or more.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 10:21 AM
tgraszat14's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 114
Default

I have two rails on my psu +12V1 and +12V2 they are both 18A, and combined they are 36A so I'm assuming that thats good enough lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 10:24 AM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

Yes that PSU should be more then enough.

Did you take a look at SKYMTL's 3870 X2 review? A quad with a 3870 X2 (and other stuff) only pulls about ~410W load.
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 11:28 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgraszat14 View Post
I have two rails on my psu +12V1 and +12V2 they are both 18A, and combined they are 36A so I'm assuming that thats good enough lol

Those are the same ratings as my power supply and it has no problem with my q6600 and xfx 8800gt alpha dog.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wondering about NCIX and other online stores in Canada Syrax Off Topic 8 August 18, 2007 09:41 AM