Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 05:27 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default Need Advice on a 8 pin power connector

Hi guy"s I recently picked up a Biostar with the 890FX chipset and I noticed I don"t have a 8 pin power connector just a 4 pin I added some pics as well.Is this going to be a problem?
My Power Supply is the
Enermax EG701AX-VE (W) 24P. It says 600 Watts Max.

System Specs:
AMD 965 (No OC)
4X2gig DDR3
1 Samsung dvd drive
2X640 gig drives
1X320 gig drive
1X 560 Ti
Attached Images
 
__________________


Last edited by norfolk; May 3, 2011 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 06:31 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

The 965 is a 140W processor I believe. As such, I would highly suggest upgrading your PSU as that kind of wattage could put significant strain on the 4-pin connector.

However, if you have been using the 965 in another board previously without an 8-pin, there should be no issues. Be prepared though; some motherboards will limit a high wattage processor's speed if they detect a 4-pin connected instead of an 8-pin.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 06:42 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The 965 is a 140W processor I believe. As such, I would highly suggest upgrading your PSU as that kind of wattage could put significant strain on the 4-pin connector.

However, if you have been using the 965 in another board previously without an 8-pin, there should be no issues. Be prepared though; some motherboards will limit a high wattage processor's speed if they detect a 4-pin connected instead of an 8-pin.
I want to make sure that this is a stable build So I will change my PS...... Thx Sky
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 06:46 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

You don't need anything huge. A well priced 650W Corsair, Seasonic or Enermax unit should do well and be ready for future upgrades (even PCI-E 3.0).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 08:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

youll probalye be looking at 350-400 at the wall so even a 500 watter will be cool.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 09:09 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
You don't need anything huge. A well priced 650W Corsair, Seasonic or Enermax unit should do well and be ready for future upgrades (even PCI-E 3.0).
Alrighty then I"ll go that route
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 09:11 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
youll probalye be looking at 350-400 at the wall so even a 500 watter will be cool.
When you say 350 to 400 what does that its drawing that wattage out of the wall socket.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 10:15 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Note if MB has 2x4 eps, use the 1-2-5-6 pin connection when psu only has 1x4 esp (CPU POWER not PCI-e for polarity is reversed)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 10:32 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norfolk View Post
When you say 350 to 400 what does that its drawing that wattage out of the wall socket.
depends on your set-up but 350-400 is fine for 1 good GPU if using cross-fire/sli set-up then 650-750
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 10:39 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
Note if MB has 2x4 eps, use the 1-2-5-6 pin connection when psu only has 1x4 esp (CPU POWER not PCI-e for polarity is reversed)
So are you saying to plug the 4 pin connector nearest the top edge of the motherboard?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24 pin power connector pooh New Builds 5 January 26, 2011 09:35 AM
8 Pin 12V ATX Connector element291 Power Supplies 6 August 24, 2009 08:52 PM
[WTB] 2 PIN CONNECTOR FOR INVERTER BOX sinticfury Buy/Sell & Trade 10 June 27, 2009 11:08 AM
4 pin molex connector Phobia Off Topic 9 June 2, 2009 12:59 AM
8-pin PCIe connector Dave510 Troubleshooting 13 April 24, 2009 07:54 PM