Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 12:09 AM
random_2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 60
Default Corsair PSU...Not enough power?

Hi
Just finished a build for a friend and I'll be darned if I'm not getting a Nvidia pop-up telling me that the video card isn't receiving enough power, and that it's been throttled down. Specs as follows;

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P Mobo
Intel E6750 dual core
OCZ Gold DDR2 6400
EVGA 8800 GT 512 MB
Sony DRU 820A DVD DL
Western Digital SE16 320 GB
Corsair 550VX PSU

Did have some initial boot problems with this build, but after pulling it apart, and re-installing everything, it seemed fine except I kept getting the "low power
to video card message" from Nvidia upon boot. After swapping the PCI-E connectors it seemed to have corrected the problem. Worked great for a day of benchtesting, and gaming. Now for no particular reason, I'm getting the same message upon boot, and the gaming has come to a grinding halt.
Have reseated the video card, checked the main power connector to the board, the eight pin connector, and have even plugged in an accessory 4 pin molex 12v to the board which is only supposed to be necessary for dual cards! No change.
Have updated the card drivers from both the Nvidia site and also EVGA No change.
I haven't tried swapping PSU's but that seems like a viable option. I have to admit that i have only built a few rigs, so I may be missing something here.
Any ideas?:help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 12:12 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

That power supply is more than enough so it seems you may have a faulty power supply :(

As long as you have the 8pin into the board, the 6 pin into the video card you don't need the 4 pin on the board.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 06:37 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

This is a well known problem. Please see this link:

8800gt power issue - jonnyGURU.net Forums
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 09:34 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
This is a well known problem. Please see this link:

8800gt power issue - jonnyGURU.net Forums
Wow! That sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 09:42 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

I am actually surprised that this has not been blown all over the internet yet. Let me tell you, if it was ATI / AMD you would have seen EVERYONE trash talking.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 09:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I am actually surprised that this has not been blown all over the internet yet. Let me tell you, if it was ATI / AMD you would have seen EVERYONE trash talking.
First Antec now Corsair.

Any idea whats going on?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 10:46 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

thats total crap guys my hx620w is way more than enough for this baby im oced little too, wtf is up with the new corsairs running like crap? it cause they added all those extra rails and their low amps lol? think that corsairs have problems with 8 pin boards? that should be plenty to run the 8800gt although 500w is the minimum to run a 8800gt.

Model

VX550W AC Input Rating

90 - 264VAC Input Current

5 - 9A Frequency

47Hz - 63Hz DC Output


Max Load Max Output +3.3V


30A 140W +5V

20A +12V


41A 492W -12V


0.8A 9.6W +5VSB


3A 15W Total Power

550W

Last edited by reaverclan; January 17, 2008 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 11:24 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

I think that is jumping to conclusions since some of the best PSUs in the industry have this exact same problem with 8800GT cards.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 11:39 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I think that is jumping to conclusions since some of the best PSUs in the industry have this exact same problem with 8800GT cards.
Exactly and it makes you wonder if its a power supply issue or something with nvidia.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 11:57 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I bet it is mostly a stupid bug in the Nvidia software. Throw a ATI card in there, and it will work fine. There's nothing wrong with the powersupply.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Introduces New 450W and 550W Power Supply Units Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 1, 2007 12:34 PM