Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 12:57 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

well i hope nvidia fixes it cause that sucks mine works though:)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 01:32 PM
random_2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 60
Post

enaberif I know I was thinking the same thing....Why would I need the 4 pin molex connected also?....But when you have issues, a guy will ty almost anything

SKYMTL Thanks, although I haven't posted here before, I know you've done more than your fair share of PSU reviews. I appreciate your opinion, and the link.

I have seen this in a couple of forums when "googled" , so I think I'll have to RMA this puppy. SKYMTL ..ANy Recomendations for a reasonably priced PSU
with longer cables for the Coolermaster CM690 that will work with the 8800GT?

Appreciate all your help and input guys. Nice to know there's brighter people out there willing to help.

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 01:36 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

I can't tell you what will and won't work with the 8800GT. The issue seems to be pretty random but I have yet to experience any problems with the Silverstone units. Maybe have a look for the OP650 or DA650...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 02:25 PM
random_2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks SKYMTL....will do. Again, I really appreciate all your help.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
that should be plenty to run the 8800gt although 500w is the minimum to run a 8800gt.
didnt noe that .. been running an antec trupower 430w . havent been having any issues like that message tho .

i was ready to go get a 550w when building the system when my neighbour-turned-pro-systems-builder advised me that 430w was more than enuf even with an 8800gt, saying the trupower was very power-efficient .. do i need 2 get 550w now lol ?

Last edited by harlequin2134; January 17, 2008 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 07:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harlequin2134 View Post
didnt noe that .. been running an antec trupower 430w . havent been having any issues like that message tho .

i was ready to go get a 550w when building the system when my neighbour-turned-pro-systems-builder advised me that 430w was more than enuf even with an 8800gt, saying the trupower was very power-efficient .. do i need 2 get 550w now lol ?
I have the same board but a different video card. However, I have the benefit of a power meter with the Zalman ZM-MFC2 Controller. With all my system running and running the stress test using Everest, I am only drawing maximum 118W. At idle, the power draw sits around 105 -108Watts. Even with your rig, you should not be drawing more than 50Watts more than mine. Its got to be something else.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 07:54 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malam View Post
I have the same board but a different video card. However, I have the benefit of a power meter with the Zalman ZM-MFC2 Controller. With all my system running and running the stress test using Everest, I am only drawing maximum 118W. At idle, the power draw sits around 105 -108Watts. Even with your rig, you should not be drawing more than 50Watts more than mine. Its got to be something else.
118W??? Are you sure that is correct? Perhaps that is just the videocard usage...It is a tad too little for that system your running! You should run at least 300W!!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 08:17 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Check Malam's sig. A dual-core at only 2.3 Ghz (probably no voltage increase), a P35 chipset, and a 2600-series card? It's the idle power draw that seems a little high, I'd say.

Harlequin2134: You can run a rig with a GT on a 430W PSU. The 500 is certainly a good idea, but you've still got plenty of headroom, especially with a dual-core processor.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2008, 08:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
118W??? Are you sure that is correct? Perhaps that is just the videocard usage...It is a tad too little for that system your running! You should run at least 300W!!
As I am typing this message, the power meter is sitting at 108Watts (CPU Core @ 1.31V and DIMM @2.01V). In addition to the equipment listed below, I also have 2 x 500G WD SATA drives, a Plextor 712A DVD/RW drive and an LG DVD/RW Lightscribe drive. 4 case fans and my cpu is cooled by the stock intel cpu fan and 2 x1024 OCZ Ripper PC6400. It will be interesting to see who else has a power meter and what they are reading.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.

Last edited by Malam; January 17, 2008 at 09:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2008, 10:30 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

I was under the impression that it all comes down to the amps on the 12 volt rails? my "crappy" 375 watt dell powersupply is rated @ two +12V rails 18amps each... thats more than some 600 watters. It has no problem powering my 8800gt aplha dog? Wattage isn't everything, look at what the 12 V rails are rated at and see if it meets the 8800gt specs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Introduces New 450W and 550W Power Supply Units Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 1, 2007 12:34 PM