Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default spend my money for me

bought an antec quattro 1200w psu and it doesnt work, never did. so i gotta buy a new one just wondering what you guys would recommend for 1000w+ modular psu's?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:51 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

corsair,seasonic,antec and enermax are ones i would stick to but my fav is the seasonic
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 06:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Seasonic doesn't make 1kW+ PSUs.

You've really just got 3 decent choices, unless you're not in Canada.

Antec High Current Pro, Silverstone Strider Gold, Corsair AX1200
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 06:04 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Both my Enermax Revo85+ and my Antec 1000W Quattro have been fabulous PSU's since I've purchased them. Although not sure what Antec was thinking when they decided to use an 80mm fan.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

stick with the strider perhaps? :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 08:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 08:28 PM
Ebbtides's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Thompson, Manitoba
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
This.

If for some strange reason you can't though - AX1200.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 08:44 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
+ >9000. Why didn't you RMA the PSU!!??!? Antec had such a smooth RMA when I had to send one of mine in. Call them up, no receipt required, they send you a shipping label to print. Ship the PSU to their service location in Canada (somewhere in Ontario I believe) and they ship you back the repaired or new unit. I know there is at LEAST a 3 year warranty on that PSU, so you should still be able to send it in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 08:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

i dont have the original packaging , i threw it out a while ago but ya ill give them a shout , and also they dont make this model anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 08:44 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

If it never worked why would you throw out the packaging? Although I highly doubt they require it for an RMA. Just a receipt of purchase.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Time Builder - Help me spend my money bonanza2000 New Builds 22 September 14, 2010 04:00 PM
1800$ to spend...Now What Chromey New Builds 12 May 13, 2010 08:21 PM
$300 to spend - what to get? GregH Video Cards 22 January 23, 2009 05:30 AM
around $400-500 to spend AFG34 New Builds 1 January 2, 2009 10:58 PM
How would you spend my $1500-$1800? PaladinPup CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 28, 2007 05:06 PM