Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 04:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default spend my money for me

bought an antec quattro 1200w psu and it doesnt work, never did. so i gotta buy a new one just wondering what you guys would recommend for 1000w+ modular psu's?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 04:51 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

corsair,seasonic,antec and enermax are ones i would stick to but my fav is the seasonic
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Seasonic doesn't make 1kW+ PSUs.

You've really just got 3 decent choices, unless you're not in Canada.

Antec High Current Pro, Silverstone Strider Gold, Corsair AX1200
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:04 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Both my Enermax Revo85+ and my Antec 1000W Quattro have been fabulous PSU's since I've purchased them. Although not sure what Antec was thinking when they decided to use an 80mm fan.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

stick with the strider perhaps? :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 07:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 07:28 PM
Ebbtides's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Thompson, Manitoba
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
This.

If for some strange reason you can't though - AX1200.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 07:44 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Why not RMA that Antec that you have? Seems silly to spend money when you already have a PSU...
+ >9000. Why didn't you RMA the PSU!!??!? Antec had such a smooth RMA when I had to send one of mine in. Call them up, no receipt required, they send you a shipping label to print. Ship the PSU to their service location in Canada (somewhere in Ontario I believe) and they ship you back the repaired or new unit. I know there is at LEAST a 3 year warranty on that PSU, so you should still be able to send it in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 07:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Default

i dont have the original packaging , i threw it out a while ago but ya ill give them a shout , and also they dont make this model anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 07:44 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

If it never worked why would you throw out the packaging? Although I highly doubt they require it for an RMA. Just a receipt of purchase.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Time Builder - Help me spend my money bonanza2000 New Builds 22 September 14, 2010 03:00 PM
1800$ to spend...Now What Chromey New Builds 12 May 13, 2010 07:21 PM
$300 to spend - what to get? GregH Video Cards 22 January 23, 2009 04:30 AM
around $400-500 to spend AFG34 New Builds 1 January 2, 2009 09:58 PM
How would you spend my $1500-$1800? PaladinPup CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 28, 2007 04:06 PM