Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 03:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 113
Unhappy Defective power supplie ???

Hi everyone! I got myself a Pc Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad 750W this week, but iI think it is defective... I plugged everything, but the system just won't post... no beeps and nothing appearing on the screen ! I 've tryied to reset the bios with the "clear cmos" jumper,but it didn't work...tryied to remove the battery,but it didn't do the trick either. So I reinstalled my "old" OCZ GameXstream 600 watts psu, and everything works fine. Anyone Has an idea of what's going on ? is it really defective or is it something I do wrong ?

Here are my system specs:
  • Core2quad qx6850 ;
  • Asus p5n32-e sli ;
  • 4gig corsair xms2 ddr2 pc6400 ( 4x1gig ) ;
  • 2x western digital caviar 250gig 16mb in RAID 0 ;
  • BFG Geforce 8800gtx oc2
  • 6 case fans ;
  • Zalman cnps 9700 LED cpu fan ;
  • dual boot Winxp pro 32 bit/Vista home premium 64-bit
Thanks in advance.


P.S.: Sorry for my bad english...not my first language.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 03:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

First, welcome to the forums!

Second, if you really connected everything from the Silencer and it won't start, and you connected the OCZ PSU to the same rig and it started, then I believe you have your answer - Blown PSU. It's RMA time.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 03:50 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default Nasty

I thought Pc+P tested the psus rigorously before shipping. I guess some bad ones must slip through then. At least nothing was damaged anyway.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 04:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 113
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
First, welcome to the forums!

Second, if you really connected everything from the Silencer and it won't start, and you connected the OCZ PSU to the same rig and it started, then I believe you have your answer - Blown PSU. It's RMA time.
1-)Thanks for your greating and fast replys !

2-)What I omited to mention, is that the power seems to be there...I mean, the cpu and case fans rotates and I can hear the dvd rom and hard drives go on as well. Can a blown psu do that even if it's dead ???

3-)I may sound a little noob, but what does RMA stands for ?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

1. no problem.
2. Whoa. That's a whole different story now. Are you sure you are plugging all connectors properly? A dead PSU can act as such, if the 12V rails are blown for example.
3. RMA stands for Return Merchandize Authorization. If you need to replace your PSU under warranty, it's called RMA.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:17 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

If it was a blown +12V rail the case fans would not spin. Try reinstalling the PCP&C PSU one more time. It could be a short in a wire...but here is the big question: does the fan on your graphics card spin when you start your computer with the PCP&C unit?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

I meant the 12V rail dedicated to the CPU. Unless I'm wrong about that too.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

It's a PCP&C unit - they all use single 12V rails (now).
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. no problem.
2. Whoa. That's a whole different story now. Are you sure you are plugging all connectors properly? A dead PSU can act as such, if the 12V rails are blown for example.
3. RMA stands for Return Merchandize Authorization. If you need to replace your PSU under warranty, it's called RMA.
Pretty sure everything was plugged the way it should be.
Now to answer SKYMTL, I didn't check my video card fan... I will retry tomorrow and let you guys know what happened. 'Till then, thanks for everything
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 05:45 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I meant the 12V rail dedicated to the CPU. Unless I'm wrong about that too.
Like MpG said, the PCP&C PSUs have a single rail design. On the other hand, you can't forget that 99.9% of the PSUs on the market are single rail designs with OCP circuits to create "virtual" rails. So, when the +12V rail goes you are pretty much screwed no matter which way you cut it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes