Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 10:35 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal,QC
Posts: 1
Default Will my PSU be able to handle the new upgrades?

Hi,

As per the title, i currently have an OCZ 520W Modstream PSU. My question would be can this power supply support, the new parts i ordered to upgrade my old system.

An intel quad core q6600
Gigabyte DS3R
3 x 120mm Fans
OCZ Plat 2gb ram
8800gt
2 x HDs
2 x Optical Drives

If it is able to run my computer will i be able to overclock the quad or will i have to upgrade the psu as well.

Thanks in advance for all the answers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 10:54 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

You should be fine, even if you want to oc your Quad. Here's a link to a wattage calculator. eXtreme Outer Vision - eXtreme tools for computer enthusiasts. I calculated 400W with your Quad oc'ed to 3.4GHz, using 1.45V. But remember that you'll need a good aftermarket cooler if you wish to oc your CPU.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 10:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Greetings, just to inform you that is not too bad of a power supply at all, and it seems that you should have no trouble with anything. You should be able to OC your CPU and your RAM without issues, however, if you decide to get another 8800GT and go SLI I would recomend going for a PSW with a bit more boost (650W or better). After all vid cards love more power, and remember, your PSW is like your computers blood. lol CHEERS!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 11:15 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

Agree with above. You should be fine but if you want to go SLI you may want more power. And I am not sure how much faith I'd put into any online wattage calculators. They might give you a very ball park figure but I wouldn't rely on it for any kind of accuracy.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 11:19 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
And I am not sure how much faith I'd put into any online wattage calculators. They might give you a very ball park figure but I wouldn't rely on it for any kind of accuracy.
I totally agree; it's only a ballpark figure.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 09:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Default

I have a similar questions (mods i apologize; wasn't sure if you wanted a new thread for this)
My setup will be:
Q6600 (non-oc)
2x2gb Mushkin EM2 6400 ram
Intel 975BX2
4 HDs (1x1TB, 3x750GB)
Pioneer SATA writer
XFX 8800 GTS 512 (G92)
Auzentech Prelude

Currently I have a Seasonic S12-600W psu. Will this be alright for the above system? If not should I sell it and buy... ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 09:56 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

That will be totally ok for your system.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:16 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I ran my q6600@3.6ghz and 8800gts@680/990 and 2 raid drives with an antec true power 550 watt. No problems. Got a 700 watt ocz when I added watercooling.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
That will be totally ok for your system.
Awesome, thank you. I was a little worried about the 12v rails and wasn't sure if it was up to the task.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lappy Upgrades r0k0 Mobile Computing 10 March 12, 2008 10:05 PM
HCF Members Post your Xfire Handle Here! Supergrover Gaming 43 January 29, 2008 09:20 AM
Windows XP and hardware upgrades. chibi_man O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 January 6, 2008 08:59 AM
Upgrades are on back burner for now:( cdn_Madrach Off Topic 7 April 14, 2007 10:09 AM