Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 10:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default HX620 SLI

Helo guys!

The HX620 is no doubt a SLI PSU, and has two 6/8 PCI-E connectors. Which means that to run SLI you need to use the molex to PCI cables. Now it is modular, which is nice. That's why I bought it :) But it's been bought with sleeving in mind for a relatively high-end build, and I dont want to mess with the molex2pci stuff - it doesn't look so nice, don't you think? So the question is:

Is it possible to use the 5-pin modular connectors on the PSU to plug in some PCI cables? When we use molex2pci, it's effectively the same - two molex (do they even have to be on different cables or on the same on is also possible? it's interesting for me as well) to a PCI.

And no 650HX, thanks :) I've got some other ways to spend that buck, really. Even this one turned out to be pretty expensive, about 120-130 bucks here in Russia (yes, I'm a bit of an unlucky overclocker - to live in Russia that is.)

Last edited by Night Gyr; December 22, 2010 at 12:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Theoretically, it's possible, but it's honestly not the best idea.

The entire Seasonic S12D and M12D series power supplies, as well as the units made from them, (including your HX620) don't have their rail specs properly labeled. For example most S12D's are advertised as dual rails, but are in fact single rails. (which are typically better at those wattages, they just advertise them as lesser units for some reason) The rail layout alone is pretty darn confusing. Check out this review.

If you're adventurous and brave, grab a multimeter and find out which pins are 12V, 5V, Ground, etc. Then go ahead and mod at your own risk. The 5 pin design probably has redundant ground wires. (no clue what else it could be used for, since it only needs 4 pins)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 11:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default

And what about 1 PCI slot on the PSU => 2 PCI 6-pin connectors? Is it suited for that kind of thing?

In the Corsair forums, a rep says the HX620 ships with 4 PCI connectors (2x 6-pin and 2x6/8-pin). Is that true? Can anybody here (who has this unit or knows it well) confirm this?

ilya, thanks for the link, I'll investigate that further.

Last edited by Night Gyr; December 21, 2010 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 07:20 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

You need to let us know what cards you want to SLI. If you were thinking of the 470s as an example there is no way your that psu would be able to support it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 09:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default

460's for sure :)
470's... Not my case, but with 50 amps and 740 watts tested, who knows? Anyway, that doesn't change a bit in my original question, connectors are always the same. Maybe rails is what you mean? How about PCI to 2 PCI y-type connector? (converter if you will)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 10:32 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

HIS Radeon HD 6970 2 GB Review - Page 27/33 | techPowerUp

if you reserve 250-300 watts for the dual 460's, and you dont have a monstruous system to go with it, why not
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Ok guys, please do not turn this into an "yet another 620 Watts SLI or not SLI" thread, you know what I mean, don't you? =P

What about the y-type cable? The amperage is more than enough, I just need to make sure both PCI-E modular cable slots on the PSU are on the very same rail. People tend to say on the forums (including this one) that it is in fact a single-rail PSU, so nothing to worry about here?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enough Power with an HX620 trayton Power Supplies 9 August 12, 2009 03:48 PM
Concerning the Corsair HX620 jak3_dude Power Supplies 1 June 16, 2009 08:30 AM
[WTB] Corsair HX620 PSU encorp Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 30, 2009 08:41 AM
Fs: Corsair Hx620 vinister Buy/Sell & Trade 10 April 23, 2008 11:51 AM