Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 06:37 PM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default Corsair 520HX enough for me?

I am planning to get a new PSU and I was wondering if this PSU would be sufficient enough for me. I find the 620 is a little over my budget so I will go with this one.

Specs:
AMD 4200+ AM2 oc'd 2.7ghz volt 1.45
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
G.Skill DDR2-800 2GB
XFX 7900GS XT not oc'd
Creative Audigy 4
2 Optical drives
2 HDD
3 120MM Tricools
1 200MM Tricool
Antec 900

Anything else I am missing?

If the 520w is not enough, could you recommend some other PSU that is modular but not as expensive as the 620?

Thanks

Edit: I've tried the extreme psu calculator, and I got a total of 430w, but I don't really trust it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 06:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Power supply is plenty if you don't have that case yet I'm gonna strongly recommend staying away.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 06:44 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- that'll be a great PSU fer ya
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2008, 06:45 PM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Thanks for the fast replies.

Yes I already have that case, but it seems fine to me. It is a dust magnet though. :P

Well I guess the 520hx is for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 07:15 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

That power supply is fine with reserve if its working as spec'd.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; January 6, 2008 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 08:50 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

It is more than enough for you. I actually think it will fit very nicely with that build.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 10:35 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Did someone say HX520?... I love mine :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 06:55 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Seems more than enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying New Ram: OCZ vs Corsair tgraszat14 RAM 2 February 5, 2008 10:27 AM
Corsair TX750W Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 5 November 4, 2007 09:55 AM
Nautilus 500 from Corsair... francois methot Water Cooling 36 April 25, 2007 09:09 PM
Corsair XMS2 Babrbarossa RAM 4 January 28, 2007 09:07 PM