Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 09:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
Default 400w for gtx 460?

i hate posring questions like this >.<

but here goes, I'm planning to upgrade to a gtx 460, the min recommended psu is 450w
I only have a 400w, do you think i can scrape by?

CPU = Pentium D 2.8 Ghz
3gb DDR2 ram
2x 600gb HDD's
and a pretty beafy sound card (delta 1010lt)
+some USB peripherals.
or should I just suck it up and upgrade my PSU while I'm at it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 09:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what brand and model,specifically,is the psu were looking at?

power consumption : ASUS GeForce GTX 570 Review - Page 25/31 | techPowerUp
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 09:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
Default

model MGE-PS 400w, (2 blue LED fans, Oooohhhh, lol)
looking online at it, with the price, i wouldn't be too surprised if it only generates about 380w or so..

and yeah I looked at the power consumption of that card in several reviews, it "should" run, but I'm cutting it afully close, so I was wondering what your opinions are.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 10:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_black View Post
model MGE-PS 400w, (2 blue LED fans, Oooohhhh, lol)
looking online at it, with the price, i wouldn't be too surprised if it only generates about 380w or so..

and yeah I looked at the power consumption of that card in several reviews, it "should" run, but I'm cutting it afully close, so I was wondering what your opinions are.

E-Tech eStore : MGE Power Supply MGE-PS : 400W MAX Untested

i wouldnt run a 7 dollar power supply on my fans, let alone a system.

earthswatts 380, fsp 400,ocz series II and so on.

look at the 12v rail, good brands dont screw up, usually.


your system alone at full load eats around 150-175 maybe 200 watts on the said 12v rail. plus another 150 lets say from the gpu.


but if you upgrade, you could do it in one shot. that cpu is old old..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 10:17 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,493

My System Specs

Default

Dont risk it, you're just as likely to burn out your entire PC of components and be out HUNDREDS in parts.

If you're going to spend 150-200 on a GPU, invest 75-100 in a new power supply...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 10:18 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

I would not attempt to run that card on that power supply.
You can never replace the price of quality from a better unit, that has a bit better rating on it.

Last thing you want to do is try and have the unit deep six the entire computer.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 10:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
Default thanks!

thank you you guys :) i was afraid of that, I was hoping I could just squeeze it for another month or so, but I guess I'll upgrade now, thanks again :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 10:57 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool. do tell us before you click checkout though :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 06:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Get at least a 550w to be safe and for some headroom. It's also cheaper to get a big one now than to upgrade and end up buying a new one in the long run.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 07:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 410
Default

HAHA! A $7 power supply.
oh man. You guys, you shoulda let him try it just for fun. ;P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gtx 460 or 2 4850 or 2 gtx 260 sempifer Video Cards 14 August 29, 2010 01:18 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM
GTX 460 VS GTX 470 for folding Scottyboy85 Video Cards 29 July 15, 2010 12:54 PM