Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:28 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default HX1000W Question

I must be a idiot for not noticing this, but I just relised my supply is 2x 12v rails, is that why on the back half the connectors are blue, and half black? If i plan to SLI or run a PhysX card would it go in the other color?

I havent really put much thought into it, and honestly just relised I should have got a 1200W professional series lol, but oh well.

Thanks!
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:33 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

I highly doubt the two rails are separated like that, although I dont have one myself. I'd guess that the rails are divided evenly between all the PCIe connections' pins OR that one rail is used solely for the motherboards 4/8pin connection and the other rail is shared amongst the PCIe connectors. Someone who owns one can check me on that though, haha.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:34 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

look at the sticker over the connection, each connector have the rail that it is linked to whrigted just over it.
Corsair HX1000 Power Supply Review
Look at the pic that show the connector.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:39 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
look at the sticker over the connection, each connector have the rail that it is linked to whrigted just over it.
Corsair HX1000 Power Supply Review
Look at the pic that show the connector.
hah, will you look at that.... interesting setup that. So the mobo and other components share the first rail with the first two PCIe connections, and the second rail is all be itself on the second two. Interesting indeed, but it should still work fine in your situation, no matter that graphics cards you decide to throw in there.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:46 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

yeah it's pretty nice that they done it this way. Anyway, both rail are powerfull enough to push a rig without issue so no worry on that side.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:51 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
yeah it's pretty nice that they done it this way. Anyway, both rail are powerfull enough to push a rig without issue so no worry on that side.
Thanks Martin, thats good to hear, but iv seen a single overclocked 480 can do up to 600W! lol
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:59 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
Thanks Martin, thats good to hear, but iv seen a single overclocked 480 can do up to 600W! lol
yeah with an overclocked CPU and everything fully underload XD Since the CPU and the 8 pin are not on the same rail, you are clean.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 07:01 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
yeah with an overclocked CPU and everything fully underload XD Since the CPU and the 8 pin are not on the same rail, you are clean.
Heh, well how well does a HX1000W overwatt anyways? Cause I am not wanting to buy another PSU in years lol...
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 07:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good q. usually i hit hardwaresecrets for overloading.not the best site,aka jonnyguru,but hey,. lets see what they say about this one.





http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...y-Review/484/8
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 07:39 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
good q. usually i hit hardwaresecrets for overloading.not the best site,aka jonnyguru,but hey,. lets see what they say about this one.





Corsair HX1000W Power Supply Review | Hardware Secrets
So uh... it might just be a 1500W... Very nice, well ill give him a 3 year life or so lol. Tried the 750W yet Dang?
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HX1000W sinticfury Power Supplies 5 June 30, 2009 02:23 PM
Corsair HX1000W bangegat Power Supplies 3 May 21, 2009 05:44 AM
Corsair HX1000W Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Power Supplies 15 November 20, 2008 02:08 PM