Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 07:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 151
Default Every PSU whines?!

So I've gone through about 5 different PSUs, including M12D 850w and corsair ax750 (2 of them).

And literally every single PSU has given me whine after a little use.

Am I just being really picky? (The case is on my desk, and I am able to hear it)
Or is this not supposed to happen?

I can notice the whine go away when I up the load (P95) or do something, but sitting on desktop, every PSU so far has given me whine...

It is annoying, but if this is the case with every single PSU out there, I will give up.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 07:39 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

maybe bad luck? hows the juice coming from the wall? did you try another ups/power bar?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 08:02 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Are you sure it's the PSU that's whining? And not the graphics card?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 08:11 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

If by some chance its the PSU and not the VC thats giving you this whine, try getting a good quality Line Conditioner and see if that takes it away.
Maybe you have really dirty power comming from that wall outlet.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 08:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 151
Default

it's definitely the PSU, and not video card.
I will try to find a line conditioner/ups or something and do that.
thanks for suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 12:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,029

My System Specs

Default

What's the rest of your hardware?

I find that Gigabyte motherboards with the advanced C-states can cause whining problems. My AX750 squeals like MAD on a H55M-USB3. M12D-850 squeals gently with an X58-UD5.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:38 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Sometimes it can be really confusing where the whine is coming from (ive seen this issue before)

To be 100% sure (not that i doubt you) just get some small tubing or hose about 40cm long and put one end to your ear and move the other end over the GPU and the PSU to eliminate any doubt?

This will give you an accurate idea (it would suck to go through another PSU to find it was the GPU)

Anyway good luck

-Mick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 10:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

This is when Zero is missed......
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 05:44 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Dirty power can cause the transformers to whine in the PSU. Definitely try a conditioner. Also, how far away are you from your distribution transformer and what kind of typical load do you have in your house?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 06:24 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
This is when Zero is missed......
True. You will get no argument from me on that.


As for this situation, I still believe a line conditioner would be the best way to narrow down the issue.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than one PSU? MobiusD Power Supplies 33 June 11, 2010 12:22 AM
New PSU? impruv Power Supplies 36 January 31, 2010 09:50 PM
[WTB] Dual (same) 700W+ psu, or 1200W+ psu 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 12 October 7, 2009 07:07 AM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 07:53 AM
PSU Help BALISTX Power Supplies 2 May 16, 2007 08:06 PM