Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:29 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,871

My System Specs

Default Which PSU?

Here's my scenario:

Two PSUs:
  1. Antec 380D (close to a year old?)
  2. Corsair Builder Series 430W (just bought it on NCIX since it was cheap)

Two Systems:
  1. E5200, Maximus Formula (X38), 4x1GB DDR2-800, GT240, 9x3.5" 7200RPM HDDs, 2xIntel Gigabit CT NICs, LSI SAS 9211-4 RAID controller
  2. E6600, ASUS P5G41C-M (G41), 2x2GB DDR3-1333, 1x3.5" 7200RPM, 1xDVD-RW.

Currently have the 380D powering the E5200, but I'm guessing the Corsair 430W would be the smarter choice? Should also be noted that I find my server BSOD'ing/restarting by itself, so not sure if it's power related or something else...need to look into it more when I get home.

Also is the Corsair's efficiency about the same as the 380D? The E5200 system runs 24/7 since its my "server" so power usage is of some concern.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 02:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i think the 380d is a fine unit, if working correctly good enough for your system. which should eat around 150-200 watts tops on the 12v, and this baby can do 330 watts on said rail.

switch them around, check the voltages.

now, the Corsair Builder Series 430W doesnt seem to be a bad unit, although from what internet folks are saying its a step down from the previous model.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 04:31 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

It won't make a difference as to what power supply you're using on each since they're more than enough to run either machines with power to spare. If it's BSOD'ng, unless its a faulty power supply, something else is the problem (unstable oc)? Also, finding the most efficient PSU is pointless, you'll save more power by turning off a lightbulb when you aren't using it FFS.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 04:31 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

It doesn't matter which PSU you put in either system, they will both work fine in either. As for efficiency, they are probably both so close in terms of efficiency that that doesn't really matter either.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,871

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
If it's BSOD'ng, unless its a faulty power supply, something else is the problem (unstable oc)?
Totally stock. No need to overclock a file server...

I really don't know why it's BSOD'ing. For now I'll blame F@H on the stock GT240 ;)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PSU? headsh0t Power Supplies 7 November 21, 2009 12:48 PM
[WTB] Dual (same) 700W+ psu, or 1200W+ psu 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 12 October 7, 2009 07:07 AM
Using 2 PSU's? magictorch Power Supplies 3 February 14, 2009 02:39 PM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 07:53 AM
Someone that knows about PSU's keenan CPU's and Motherboards 5 October 15, 2007 07:23 PM