Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 08:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
Default Is this PSU okay for core I7?

My old psu, which can be seen here:

SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration
PC Perspective - SilverStone Zeus ST75ZF 750 Watt Power Supply Review

Motherboard would be:

ASUS P7P55D LGA1156 P55 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 3PCI 7SATA CrossFire GBLAN 8CHANNEL Audio Motherboard
NCIX.com - Buy ASUS P7P55D LGA1156 P55 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 3PCI 7SATA CrossFire GBLAN 8CHANNEL Audio Motherboard - P7P55D In Canada.

with a core I7 860 processor

Is this PSU okay for core I7? I am asking since I saw some kind of fad on newegg.com where some PSU were mentionned to be (I7 Compliant).

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 08:50 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

It'll work just fine so long as it's in good shape and working order.

There is no special certification for it to power i7, or any processor for that matter.

What other equipment/parts do you plan on building into this system? Lets make sure it's enough for everything.

Are you going single video card, how many hard/solid drives etc
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 08:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Its currently in my pc running fine with:

GTX 260, E8400, 2 hDd's, dvd thats it.

Im just swapping the motherboard processor and ram.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 09:37 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

This will be plenty my friend! Have fun with this new set up!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 12:26 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Yeah you are totally fine. Go ahead and swap out the stuff you intend to!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 12:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

That PSU is plenty for your system.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Quad Core CPU, Mobo, DVD, Case, PSU trayton Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 27, 2010 08:22 PM
[WTB] Dual (same) 700W+ psu, or 1200W+ psu 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 12 October 7, 2009 08:07 AM
[WTB] Core i7 chip, ddr3 Ram, PSU monkey_mo Buy/Sell & Trade 10 April 15, 2009 04:54 AM
Core i7: Will I need a new PSU? Evylldemon Power Supplies 8 December 11, 2008 11:57 AM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 08:53 AM