Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default Crossfire 5670's with a CX400?

Got a rig with 550BE that unlocks, 1 dvd drive, a few USB devices plugged in and a bunch of fans(would run only 3 140mms if i did this or less when i get a htpc case for this setup)
is a corsair cx 400watt enough if i add another 5670? will my computer start on fire? will i finally shit on crysis at 1368x760?

Last edited by johnnyblazzwa; September 20, 2010 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

mr johnny.

well, interesting question. lets see...

as per corsair
it can do 360w on the 12v and a 5850 pulls around 110w while gaming in normal mode, thus you can crossfire two. as long as you dont overclock anything, in theory you should be fine

what is that? you may ask? oh, sorry. 5670. you can add a few more of those and still be fine :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

sounds good, maybe i'll buy 3 plus a new MB and make the most badass Hippy 400 watt quadfire that ever was

thanks man
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 08:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no worries. it would be real close if you ever xfired 5850's. why? well, those can pull 150 or so watts stock when furmarked, so if you had a part in the game that made them pull that much? well, the 60 watts left to go in the psu wouldve not been enough. but, going by this it could actually be mighty fine in either condition(well ok unless you furmark it)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2010, 03:04 PM
Ctech's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 40
Default

Kinda pushing the power supply. PSU wattages are usually peak (not continuous, I use a general rule of 15% less than rated is actual wattage), so I'd suggest a decent 500w+ power supply, at least 30A on the 12V.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2010, 07:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

You should be fine
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why would a 8600gt work on my PC and a HD 5670 wouldn't? What could be the reason? Aelf Video Cards 4 March 27, 2010 08:11 AM
PowerColor Launches Overclocked Radeon HD 5670 PCS+ FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 2, 2010 10:59 AM
5670 at NCIx MarkOne Video Cards 5 January 18, 2010 09:22 PM
AMD ATI 5670 Pictured and Detailed FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 December 2, 2009 03:31 PM