Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 02:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

literally stripped the board down and reconected everything. weird thing is on the motherboard the blue leds light up and the on/off switch does to but the psu fans does not spin so it will not let me even get into bios. never herd of a system that can go into standby which does not have a reset switch its crazy :/.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 08:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Standby as far as the PSU goes is not the same as going into standby mode from Windows. Standby power means the computer is off, but the PSU is still supplying standby power to a few things.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 11:27 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

it could be just the 5v rail which is active, or a very low form of an active 12v rail?

if you jump it,given you can with this unit, does it spin 12v fans?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 11:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
it could be just the 5v rail which is active, or a very low form of an active 12v rail?
No, the standby rail is active. Hence why it's called standby mode.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 02:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

how do i jump the psu ? never done that before. also if its supplying stand by power to some of the pc is it possible to get it togo back to normal or is the psu damaged ?ty all for the replys so far
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 09:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

To jump the PSU, disconnect it completely from the PC and turn off the power switch on the back. Connect the green wire from the 24-pin ATX connector to one of the black wires with a piece of wire or a metal paper clip. Then turn the switch on.

If the PSU is in standby mode, that doesn't reflect whether or not it is capable of functioning in normal mode. Standby power is basically provided by a separate PSU within the unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] A 600w -1000w PSU mailaw Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 14, 2008 06:20 AM
The Big Guns: 1000W PSU roundup Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 May 3, 2007 10:53 AM
My new Enermax Galaxy PSU r00tman Power Supplies 13 April 29, 2007 11:02 AM