Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default Are my PSU voltages too high?

My computer is dead but the fan for my PSU still turns.

I have measured the voltages out of my PSU and get the following readings:

12V measures at 12.7 volts
5V measures at 6.2 volts
3.3V measures at 4.2 volts

Should I conclude that my 3 months old Corsair TX750 is defective? Did it kill my computer?

I have a high quality voltmeter and I am sure the readings I get are precise.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Readings from a PSU that isn't under load can't really be counted on as a diagnostic tool.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

My PSU was under light load. The PSU fan was turning and a HD and a case fan were connected also. Obviously I could not connect anything else since my MB is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Those readings range from out of spec to way out of spec, but I still wouldn't write off the PSU until you test it in an actual machine. Those components are loading it a little bit, but not enough to be sure that you're getting valuable readings.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:54 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

It doesn't look good, but it's hard to say - if there's not enough load on the 5V rail, most PSU's won't work properly. Would be good if you could switch a few molex pins and run a couple fans off the 5V rail, just to give it a little load.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 01:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

I am afraid to plug it in another computer. If it is defective it might kill the second computer as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2010, 04:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

5 and 3.3 look scary lol.

12 is not that bad. well bad but i figure it could work with just that one up. dont plug it in anything else if youve measured properly.

unless you can hook it to a crap load of juice needy fans or something like that
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2010, 11:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Those voltages are too high, especially the 5V and 3.3V lines. Are you sure those are being measured accurately? Have you tried another multimeter? If you're sure they are being measured correctly, it would seem likely that your computer could have been damaged by overvoltage.
__________________
ups systems
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 01:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

The thing needs to be placed under load before proper measuring. a case fan and an HDD isn't considered a load.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2010, 08:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

When I communicated those voltages to Corsair they immediately concluded that my PSU was defective. Fortunately, nothing else was damaged. My computer runs fine with another PSU.

My replacement PSU arrived from Corsair yesterday. I will install it this weekend
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ High-Performance PSU Meets the Demands of Gamers and System Builders with Low-Profile Cabling mikellini Press Releases & Tech News 29 June 10, 2010 06:40 AM
Computex 2010: ADATA's New PSU Series & High Performance Flash Products SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 4 June 6, 2010 10:45 AM
Weird PSU Voltages...is this OK? Oversized Rooster Power Supplies 7 October 21, 2008 04:25 PM
Cooler Master Has First Ever 80 Plus Silver Certified High-Watt PSU Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 26, 2008 10:41 AM