Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default New Power Cable for an 850HX ...?

Hi all! I require a longer cable to run from my rig's Corsair 850HX to a battery backup. The AC cable that came with the Corsair unit is maybe 4 feet long and I need at least double that if I hope to avoid some serious unsightly cabling action.

The documentation states I should "use only the power cable that came packaged with the unit" or something along those lines, which sounds like ass covering to me ("Oh! You fried your PSU? Were you using our cable? No? Tough luck!"), but I thought I'd be safe and do a little research before dropping coin on a 10 foot generic cable replacement.

Do I need to exercise caution when buying a new power cable? The Corsair cable is fancy pants with it's gold plated connections, etc. I'd have no problem spending a little more on a cable if I thought it would actually improve (or at least not degrade) performance.

Thoughts? Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:48 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

For only $3.28 each when QTY 50+ purchased - 14AWG Power Cord Cable w/ 3 conductor PC power connector socket (C13/5-15P) - 10ft (Black) | Power Cords w/ 3 conductor PC power connector

Order that (I think I found the right one) and call it a day
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 11:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Like I said on another forum where you made this exact same thread, basically any cheap power cord will do.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 08:06 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you expect to pull lots of juice from the wall,then get a proper one, hell get a proper one anyway. i have a couple monster of cables(not the brand). these things are made to run 1500 psu's or better? :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 10:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
if you expect to pull lots of juice from the wall,then get a proper one, hell get a proper one anyway. i have a couple monster of cables(not the brand). these things are made to run 1500 psu's or better? :)
Nonsense.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:01 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

All power cables are the same damn thing. They are just three wires in there of same thickness and insulation, as zero has stated any wire that is 3 pronged and has the same 'opening' to plug into a psu will work. Its simple electronics
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:13 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

trust me, ive seen some cheapo 25c cables go. well first they warmed up a 'bit'

if you spend x ammount on pc and then get a cheap psu and power cord...facepalm
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:18 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

Yes but we are debating the cable itself, not the psu. Cheap psus will go, matter or time, especially if you turn them on and off a lot. A cable though, is typically marked up and all are made at roughly the same quality. I've never in all my life in building pcs or being an electronics student, have a seen a cheap psu cable be the culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:23 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
trust me, ive seen some cheapo 25c cables go. well first they warmed up a 'bit'

if you spend x ammount on pc and then get a cheap psu and power cord...facepalm
I don't see a reason to "trust you", since even a cheap 10A-rated cable is enough to handle 1000-1200W of power draw from a 120V socket which is far more than the OP will likely ever see. If he remains within the PSU's maximum rated power draw of 850W, the maximum amount of power the PSU will ever pull from the wall will be 1000W which is within the capabilities of a cheap cable.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 11:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

When buying cheap power cables, buy a few, cut one or two of them open and bust out the caliper/awg gauge. If it's good buy a lot more.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED a 4870x2 Power Cable AmuseMe Video Cards 4 June 18, 2009 08:58 PM
Power a fan with a floppy power cable? andynerd Air Cooling 4 December 26, 2008 12:50 AM
Mobo Power exstension cable/PSU frosty Power Supplies 1 May 31, 2008 08:19 AM
Desperate: Power cable for ASUS Xonar DX scrawledinwax Audio 27 May 13, 2008 09:22 AM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 12:09 PM