Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 04:29 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default 8 Pin Power extension

So i have been modding my cosmos s and i bought 2 different 8 pin power extensions and both of them won't fit. It seems that the pins on my Asus P5Q-E are to big. The connectors on the 8 pin power extension are not wide enough.

What to do?

Thanks
Scott
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 09:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Computergeek View Post
So i have been modding my cosmos s and i bought 2 different 8 pin power extensions and both of them won't fit. It seems that the pins on my Asus P5Q-E are to big. The connectors on the 8 pin power extension are not wide enough.

What to do?

Thanks
Scott
ive used these with great success. dont remember having ever had issues.

NG-4P4M-8PEF, 3 bucks at dc it seems.

unless you mean 8 pin to 8 pin :p
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:20 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Can you post a link to the extensions you bought? I have a feeling you bought PCI-E power extensions instead of the EPS12V extensions you need.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:48 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

i got this one about a week ago
Newegg.ca - NZXT 9.84" 8Pin Motherboard Power Extension Cable Model CB-8P

and i bought this one yesterday but from a location shop in halifax

Newegg.ca - StarTech 8" EPS 8 Pin Power Extension Cable Model EPS8EXT

and either of them work...



Cheers!
Scott
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Those are the right cables. Have you tried just pushing a little harder? It may simply require some more force. If the connectors will fit into the sockets, see if you can just push them down to lock them in fully.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 11:36 AM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

yea.. i was very nervous about pushing to hard. The last time i tried i pushed farly hard and it still didnt come close but i will give it another try tonite..

this is the first time i have had this problem in like 10 years of building pcs..
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 04:35 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

nope either of them works.. ahh this is frustrating..
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 05:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

are you pulling on the lock thingie? if you dont press hard enough on some(like the 24 pin power supply cable it wont go in)


edit...you dont have that stupid 4 pin cover on your 8 pin or something..lol?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 06:10 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
are you pulling on the lock thingie? if you dont press hard enough on some(like the 24 pin power supply cable it wont go in)


edit...you dont have that stupid 4 pin cover on your 8 pin or something..lol?

lol nope.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 12:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

It seems people are needing these extensions more often these days as we switch to larger cases and become fussier over our cable management. I'll need one of these extensions myself. If you can get them both to fit, I'll buy your extra from you. I barely had enough length with my TPQ-850 and my Coolermaster CM690.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Radeon 2600 PRO 6 pin power plug dodge Video Cards 1 May 26, 2010 09:35 PM
3pin to 2 pin power led? BobbyLou Troubleshooting 4 January 15, 2010 12:29 PM
4 pin power enough for QX9650? howdid CPU's and Motherboards 8 August 1, 2008 05:46 PM
6-pin PCI Express to single 8-pin no_pulse Power Supplies 12 July 8, 2008 04:46 AM
3 Pin to 4 Pin Fan Plug Adaptor? Thund3rball Video Cards 6 March 25, 2008 01:46 PM