Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 06:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Default Enough for crossfire?

Hey Everyone, Quick question about my rig, Im running a Evga 3x SLI Mobo, intel i7930 (at 3.8Ghz), 2 7200RPM Hdd's, 1 Optical drive and im using the Silverstone raven rv02 case so im also running 3 180mm fans. I have a Silverstone strider 850W PSU and was wondering if that has enough power to do a 5870 crossfire setup? And if so would that leave enough headroom for a SSD system drive? Any info is appreciated.

Last edited by CanadianZX; June 16, 2010 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 06:46 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,772

My System Specs

Default

Plenty of space for the card and SSD.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 06:54 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

You have more than enough power for sure.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 06:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Awesome! thanks guys! The rig will be "finished" tomorrow. will hopefully get some pictures up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 07:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

going to use modded drivers hey?

you should have a good 20% left on the 12v or better :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 07:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Not to sure about modded drivers yet, this is my first real build in over 3 years, been completely out of the Computer game for a long time, still trying to get used to all this new lingo and tech. Hahah. Old computer AMD X2 6000+, Asus-M2n-E, Corsair 550W PSU, 4Gb mushkin RAM and Xfx 8800GTS 320mb (I bought it 2 days before the 800GT came out, felt like an idiot).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 08:15 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I am using a Silverstone Strider PLUS 850W actually and I run a GTX 260+GTS 250 3HD a complete water loop many fan 2 fan controller and a I7 860 at 4.0GHZ with 8GB or fam. The PSU is still cold and silent so it can handle more. You are clear to do it my friend go for it!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2010, 07:03 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,255

My System Specs

Smile Power Supplies

It really depends on the psu and how hard you run your unit for how long, at least to a degree. There is a psu formula to figure out what's required to run a system. Myself, I like this to be no more than 75% of my overall rated power supply. The reason is power consumption when close to the limit is harder on the unit regardless of the make, it's noisier, and runs hotter. This is also one of the most crucial components in your entire system. There are some people who will strongly disagree, but for me, to err on the safe side is preferable. That said, I like to go a slight bit overboard. Hence I will spend a bit more for a great quality psu, such as Corsair. In the end it's up to you as to how much you're comfortable spending on this item. A unit will only draw what it needs, so a bit bigger than necessary will future proof you for future builds, or going xfire/sli.

|Good luck and enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 10:59 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
, Im running a Evga 3x SLI Mobo, intel i7930 (at 3.8Ghz), 2 7200RPM Hdd's, 1 Optical drive and im using the Silverstone raven rv02 case so im also running 3 180mm fans. I have a Silverstone strider 850W PSU and was wondering if that has enough power to do a 5870 crossfire setup?
Did I actually read the words "SLI" and "5870 Crossfire setup" in the same sentence?

Everybody knows it's NOT compatible!!! Unless I really miss something here...
I know LUCID HYDRA could allow for a mix between nVIDIA and ATI....

__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 07:02 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Did I actually read the words "SLI" and "5870 Crossfire setup" in the same sentence?

Everybody knows it's NOT compatible!!! Unless I really miss something here...
I know LUCID HYDRA could allow for a mix between nVIDIA and ATI....

Yup you miss something. It supports CF too. All but very few board that support sli won't support CF (if not all.. but I'll keep a margin ;) )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 2 Bridges for Crossfire fishingfanatic Video Cards 15 May 4, 2010 10:49 AM
[FS] CroSsFiRe's FS/WTB CroSsFiRe2009 Buy/Sell & Trade 23 February 19, 2010 08:26 PM
58 and 48 series crossfire? lKashl Video Cards 7 November 24, 2009 07:03 AM
Q regarding Crossfire Jackquelegs Video Cards 4 March 29, 2009 02:52 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM