Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 09:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default is this power enough for my system

do i need to upgrade my power ?

i had Gigabyte 585W ODIN

Gigabyte 585W ODIN - ATX 12V v2.2, 120mm Fan, RoHS, Sleeved Cabling (24EPG-P46AC2-21R) | Techbuy Australia

my system

I7 920
gigabyte GAx58a udr
HD 5850

and can i over clock with this power ?



i just opened the unit

the code said : FSPXXX-60GLY(NEW2) and there is a tick beside 460W

this pic exactly like what in my psu

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9963/dsc02030i.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 10:08 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I would not recomend this PSU to run your system if you want to overclock. Get a TX750 or anything like that they are cheap on price. Can be bought for less then 100$ sometime. But well, when Zero will see this thread he will give you the real hour. He know much more then me about PSU.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 11:20 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

meh, he wont be pulling more than 300 watts stock i think, maybe 350? im sure ripple and such will get a tad unconfortable if it goes to the max 12 wattage written there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 11:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

i tried it on my older rig

Q9550 C1 clocked 3.6
gigabyte EP45
9600 GT clocked

i run prime95 and FurMark 4 hours and the power works smoothly and quiet

Last edited by coco10; June 11, 2010 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2010, 01:38 AM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine for your needs. If you do upgrade your computer in the future, consider getting a better brand like Corsair, Seasonic, XFX, Silverstone, etc
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 01:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

it power my rig Ok but the fan was very loud

looks iam going for upgrade
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 08:30 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I would recommend an upgrade. That PSU is a low-end FSP unit and I would not use it for a higher-end system. Take a look at the Antec NEO ECO series, the Seasonic S12II series, and Corsair's PSUs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 08:37 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,047

My System Specs

Default

A Silverstone Strider Plus 750W would be perfect and at around $100 its awesome bang for your buck PSU unit. Very solid performance.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 09:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
A Silverstone Strider Plus 750W would be perfect and at around $100 its awesome bang for your buck PSU unit. Very solid performance.

ST
A 750W PSU would be a complete waste for a system like this.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 09:45 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,047

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
A 750W PSU would be a complete waste for a system like this.
You perhaps Zero need to stop thinking on things as they stand and rather leave some room for upgrades in both GPU's and other items.

Unless extremely restricted in budget it is best have have your PSU firmly on your upgrade path already rather than it being a part of it.

My thoughts at least,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply for this system rfielder New Builds 25 January 12, 2010 08:32 PM
System Power Requirements for Radeon 5870 RBA Power Supplies 1 September 23, 2009 05:41 PM
Teaming Power Supplies for Single System CroSsFiRe2009 Power Supplies 12 July 4, 2009 05:54 PM
NVIDIA system sentintel reporting insufficient power? Mibs Video Cards 4 March 14, 2008 04:16 AM
PC Perspective reviews 1000W BFG Tech PC System power supply Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 February 22, 2007 08:40 PM