Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:23 PM
MobiusD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern O ntari O
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

yeah I was just looking at one of those connectors, well isn't that epic... dual PSU's!!!! woot

before you know it all the mainboards sold in the store will have multiple cpu's
8 pci-e slots, can you imagine? 12 cores? over 16 gigs of video memory? lol energy crisis much?

wait a minute, "light bulb" whats a "stop-gap" psu? or is tha referring to gpu's?

Edit Arinoth: Please stop double posting, use the edit button

Last edited by Arinoth; June 2, 2010 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

green and black for power on/off signalisation..very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you're looking to power four 5850s off a PSU that only has four PCI-E connectors, then chances are you should be looking for a more powerful PSU to begin with. There are PSUs that have six or more PCI-E connectors, and you can always use molex to PCI-E adapters if you need more. I always favour a single PSU over a dual-PSU setup because there are other factors that you have to consider when sticking two different PSUs together. You have to balance the load across both units, you have to make sure that you aren't crossloading either one of them, and you also have to make sure that each component in the system is only being powered by one of the PSUs, or you will end up with current flowing from one PSU to the other due to voltage differences which is definitely not something you want.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:45 PM
MobiusD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern O ntari O
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

ok... hmm, voltage regulator? inline capacitor?

I appologize for the double posting, still a rookie, not trying to stat pad
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MobiusD View Post
ok... hmm, voltage regulator? inline capacitor?
Uh, what?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 07:51 PM
MobiusD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern O ntari O
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

well you mentione cross threading the psu's, and backfeeding wattage, im thinking there must be a way to stop that from ever happening from the start, possible capacitor to compensate? voltage regulator? maybe an added diode for control?

or am i dreaming?

time to research and see what is already onthe market before i start building a control board, no time for that anymore, games take up to much time

Last edited by MobiusD; June 2, 2010 at 08:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You're pretty much dreaming. There's no convenient way to compensate for the problems I mentioned aside from avoiding them altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:06 PM
MobiusD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern O ntari O
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

theres always a way.... its been done already and was stable im sure, need to search for the info, it lurks out there somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Like I said, if you balance everything properly then there is no problem. But you have to make sure to do it properly, and there are certain things you need to worry about. My opinion is that it's more trouble than it's worth, and the correct solution to your problem would be to purchase a PSU with the capacity to properly power all of your hardware instead of trying to hack two smaller PSUs together.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2010, 08:22 PM
MobiusD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern O ntari O
Posts: 44

My System Specs

Default

You made a great point about balancing tho, and instantly got me thinking how impossible it would be to balance the psu's, just throwing some ideas outloud, my issue isnt really powering the gpu's i soppose its i found a small problem and want to be a geek and fix it :)

could easily molex adapt one gpu, cant find a psu that has 8x6 pin connectors so adapting 2 6 pins should be easy enough, just cant help but wonder how to solve futue power issues when psu's are only supplied with half the connectors us consumers need, just finished looking at the ultra 1800 watt psu, only has 6x6 pci-e connectors, need 8, wierd when it has 3x8 pin pci-e connectors, 3 of them? why 3 all cards have 2 connections, the third one is for what?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PSU? headsh0t Power Supplies 7 November 21, 2009 12:48 PM
[WTB] Dual (same) 700W+ psu, or 1200W+ psu 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 12 October 7, 2009 07:07 AM
help with psu hohohee Power Supplies 9 July 24, 2009 09:46 AM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 07:53 AM
PSU Help BALISTX Power Supplies 2 May 16, 2007 08:06 PM